

# **STAFF REPORT**

# **City of Dripping Springs**

**PO Box 384** 

511 Mercer Street

**Dripping Springs, TX 78620** 

**Submitted By:** Diana Boone, City Secretary

**Council Meeting Date:** August 6, 2023

Agenda Item Wording: Approval of reappointment of Tammie Williamson, Douglas Shumway,

and Evelyn Strong to the Planning & Zoning Commission for terms

**ending June 30, 2026** 

**Agenda Item Requestor:** Diana Boone, City Secretary

#### Summary/Background: <u>Member Responsibilities</u>

The P&Z shall have all the rights, powers, privileges and authority authorized and granted by the city council and through the statutes of the State of Texas authorizing and granting cities the power of zoning and subdivision regulation as found in chapters 211 and 212 of the Texas Local Government Code, as may be amended.

The P&Z shall be an advisory body and adjunct to the city council and shall make recommendations regarding amendments to the comprehensive plan, changes of zoning, zoning ordinance amendments, and zoning to be given to newly annexed areas, and shall make recommendations regarding the approval of plats of subdivisions as may be submitted to it for review and other planning related matters delegated to the P&Z by the city council.

# **Member Selection**

There is created, in accordance with chapter 211 of the Texas Local Government Code, the "planning and zoning commission," hereafter sometimes referred to as the "P&Z," which shall consist of seven members. A minimum of two of the members shall be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs. As many as two of the members may be ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County. The remaining three members of the P&Z shall be at-large and may either be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs, or ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County.

#### Membership Requirements

- 1. Registered voter of Hays County
- 2. City or ETJ resident

### **Officer Appointments**

The city council shall appoint a chairman from among the membership of the P&Z. The P&Z shall elect from among its membership, a vice-chairperson. The P&Z may elect from among its membership a secretary. Each officer shall hold office for one year or until replaced. The P&Z, at its first meeting on or after June, shall select all the positions.

The P&Z shall also select a member to serve as representative on the Transportation Committee.

### **Membership**

The Commission shall consist of seven members. A minimum of two of the members shall be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs. As many as two of the members may be ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County. The remaining three members of the P&Z shall be at-large, and may either be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs, or ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County.

Members of the P&Z may serve simultaneously on any other city board or commission, except for the city council or the board of adjustment.

#### **Current Members**

Member	Term	Background
Mim James, Chair	6/30/25	Oil & Gas
Tammie Williamson, Vice Chair	06/30/24	Planning
Christian Bourguignon	6/30/25	General Contractor
Eugene Foster	6/30/25	Business Owner
Evelyn Strong	06/30/24	Real Estate
Douglas Shumway	06/30/24	Attorney
Doug Crosson	6/30/25	Real Estate/Development

#### Seat Expirations

There are three (3) members with terms that expire June 30, 2024.

- Tammie Williamson
- Evelyn Strong
- Doug Shumway
- Mim James (Chair reappointment)

# **Vacancies and Applicants**

All current members requested reappointment.

We also have four (4) applications on file that meet the criteria for appointment.

**Commission Recommendations:** 

The commission recommends the reappointment of Tammie Williamson, Evelyn Strong, and Douglas Shumway for terms ending June 30, 2026; and the reappointment of Mim James as Chair for a one (1) year term.

**Staff** 

**Recommendations:** 

Staff recommends the reappointment of Mim James as the Planning & Zoning Commission Chair for a term of one (1) year and the reappointment of Tammie Williamson, Evelyn Strong, and Douglas Shumway for terms ending June 30, 2026.

**Next Steps/Schedule:** 

- 1. Inform applicants not appointed
- 2. Update website