

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary **Submitted By:**

Council Meeting Date: May 17, 2022

Agenda Item Wording: Discuss and consider approval of the Appointment of one member to the

Emergency Management Commission for an at-large seat with an

unexpired term ending January 1, 2023.

Agenda Item Requestor: Bonnie Humphrey, Emergency Management Commission Chair

Summary/Background: The Emergency Management Commission is a twelve-member advisory commission tasked with recommending policies and the application of policies for the development and implementation of an emergency management plan for the city and ETJ. The Committee is responsible for development, implementation, and review of the city's emergency management planning for disasters. The Committee is also responsible for providing information and training on emergency management response.

> Members of the Emergency Management Commission are selected at-large (3 seats), and as representatives of the following organizations that are integral in the operation of the Emergency Management Program:

- 2 seats Emergency Response (Fire, EMS, Law Enforcement)
- 1 seat Business Community/Chamber of Commerce
- 1 seat Dripping Springs Independent School District
- 1 seat Nonprofit Organization
- 1 seat Volunteer Services Organization
- 1 seat City of Dripping Springs Emergency Planning Coordinator
- 1 seat Hays County Representative
- 1 seat Hays County Precinct No. 4 Constable

On May 10, 2022, Commissioner Kay Allen submitted her resignation letter for her at-large effective immediately and vacating a term set to expire January 1, 2023. Additionally, there is a vacancy for the DSISD Representative, generally reserved for the districts Emergency Manager. At this time the district is working on filling the position and I will bring that appointment for consideration at a later meeting date.

Current Commission Membership

Member	Term	Seat Description
Roman Baligad	NA	EM Coordinator
Scott Collard	1/1/23	Emergency Response
Doug Fowler	1/1/23	Emergency Response
Bonnie Humphrey, Chair	1/1/24	Business Community
Russell Paxton	1/1/24	Nonprofit Organization
Gordon DeWitte	1/1/24	Volunteer Services
Mike Jones	1/1/24	Hays County Representative
Ron Hood	1/1/23	Precinct 4 Constable
Vacancy 2	1/1/23	At-Large
Bill Little, Vice Chair	1/1/24	At-Large
Dillon Polk	1/1/23	At-Large
Vacancy 1	1/1/24	DSISD Representative

Two applications for appointment have been received:

- Sandra Barber
- Jason McNutt

Commission Recommendations:

Chair Humphrey interviewed both candidates and is recommending the appointment of Jason McNutt.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends the selection of one application to fill the at-large vacancy with an unexpired term ending January 1, 2023.

Attachments:

- 1. Chair Humphrey's recommendation
- 2. Sandra Barber Application
- 3. Jason McNutt Application

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Notify applicants of Council decision welcome letters and denial letters
- 2. Update website and master roster
- 3. Notify commission of appointments and send updated roster
- 4. Send meeting calendar invite to appointees