

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

July 6, 2020 **Council Meeting Date:**

Agenda Item Wording: Discuss and consider approval of the Appointment of three (3)

individuals to the Historic Preservation Commission for terms ending

June 30, 2022.

Agenda Item Requestor: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Summary/Background: The Historic Preservation Commission is a seven-member advisory commission responsible for making recommendations to the city council regarding the preservation of landmarks and historic districts within the city.

> Commission members are appointed by the City Council at-large, and preference is given to applicants that have an interest in the historic traditions of the City, and experience in the preservation of the historical character of the City; and specifically applicants from the following categories, professions, and interests: Architecture, History, Real Estate, Attorney at Law, Historic Landmark Property Owner, Archaeology, Geography, Anthropology, Planning & Zoning Commission member.

Current Commission

Member	Term	Experience
Bruce Lewis, Chair	6/30/22	Property Owner
Emilie Kopp, Vice Chair	6/30/21	Property Owner
Dean Erickson	6/30/22	Real Estate
Ashley Bobel	6/30/21	Real Estate
Jean Reimers	6/30/21	History
Minnie Glosson-Needham	6/30/22	History
Tim Brown	6/30/22	Architecture

A notification of seat expiration was sent to each member in April, which also included the chair and staff liaison. Emilie Kopp and Ashley Bobel have requested reappointment and Jean Reimers is stepping down. Jean will be presented with an award for public service on a city commission at the July 20th meeting.

Public notice was sent for applications for appointment in April with a deadline for submission on May 31st. The following applications were received, and applicants were interviewed by Chair Bruce Lewis and Commissioner Dean Erickson. Applications will be marked private due to personal and confidential information therein.

Applicant	Experience	
Nichole Prescott	PhD in History, historic preservation	
Haley Hunt	Property/Business Owner	
Lee Sawyer	Project Management and Finance	

Commission Recommendations:

Chair Bruce Lewis and Dean Erickson recommend the appointment of Nichole Prescott, and the reappointment of Emilie Kopp and Ashley Bobel.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends the reappointment of Emilie Kopp and Ashley Bobel, and the appointment of Nichole Prescott for terms ending June 30, 2023.

Attachments:

- 1. Applications for Appointment
- 2. Chair recommendation

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Notify applicants of Council decision welcome letters and denial letters
- 2. Update website and master roster
- 3. Notify commission of appointments and send updated roster
- 4. Send calendar invite to appointees