OF DRIPPING SPRING	STAFF REPORT City of Dripping Springs PO Box 384 511 Mercer Street Dripping Springs, TX 78620
Submitted By:	Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary
Council Meeting Date:	July 6, 2020
Agenda Item Wording:	Discuss and consider approval of the Appointment of four (4) individuals to the Planning & Zoning Commission for terms ending June 30, 2022; and the appointment of a Chair to serve a term of one year.
Agenda Item Requestor:	: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary
Summary/Background:	The Planning & Zoning Commission is a seven-member advisory commission with all the rights, powers, privileges and authority authorized and granted by the city council and through the Statues of the State of Texas as found in Chapter 211 and 212 of the Texas Local Government Code. The Commission makes recommendations regarding the Comprehensive Plan, changes of zoning, zoning ordinance amendments, and zoning to be given to newly annexed areas, and shall make recommendations regarding the approval of plats of subdivisions as submitted for review, and other planning related matters delegated by the City Council.
	Commission members are nominated by City Council Members and appointed by a simple majority vote. A minimum of two (2 seats) members shall be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs. As many as two (2 seats) may be ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County, and the remaining three (3 seats) shall reside either in the city limits or the ETJ and be registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs or Hays County.
	Current Commission

Member	Term	Residency
Mim James, Chair	6/30/21	ETJ
James Martin, Vice Chair	06/30/22	ETJ
Christian Bourguignon	6/30/21	City Resident
John McIntosh	6/30/21	City Resident

Roger Newman	6/30/21	City Resident
Evelyn Strong	6/30/22	ETJ
Tammie Williamson	6/30/22	City Resident

A notification of seat expiration was sent to each member in April, which also included the chair and staff liaison. Mim James, Christian Bourguignon, and John McIntosh have requested reappointment and roger Newman is stepping down. Roger will be presented with an award for public service on a city commission at the July 20th meeting.

Public notice was sent for applications for appointment in April with a deadline for submission on May 31st. The following applications were received, and applicants were interviewed by Chair Mim James, Vice Chair James Martin, Commission Tammie Williamson, Council Member April Harris-Allison and Deputy City Administrator Ginger Faught. Applications will be marked private due to personal and confidential information therein.

Applicant	Residency
Mike Wilson	ETJ
Douglas Crosson	ETJ
Matt Rygg	ETJ

An application was also received from Tyler Walbridge; however, he did not respond for request for interview appointment.

Commission
Recommendations:The interview panel recommends the reappointment of Mim James, Christian
Bourguignon and John McIntosh, and the appointment of Douglas Crosson.Recommended
Council Actions:Staff recommends the reappointment of Mim James, Christian Bourguignon
and John McIntosh, and the appointment of Douglas Crosson for terms
ending June 30, 2023.
The Council may appoint, at their pleasure, a member from the Commission
to serve as Chair for a term of one year.Attachments:1.Applications for Appointment
2.
Interview Panel Recommendation

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Notify applicants of Council decision welcome letters and denial letters
- 2. Update website and master roster
- 3. Notify commission of appointments and send updated roster
- 4. Send calendar invite to appointees