

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78602

Submitted By: Kelly Schmidt, Parks & Community Services Director

PRC

May 3, 2021

Meeting Date:

Agenda Item Wording:

Discuss and consider recommendation regarding Amendments to the Parks & Recreation Commission for seat representation and the appointment of members.

Agenda Item Requestor:

Robbie Zamora

Summary/Background:

Parks & Recreation Commission

The Parks & Recreation Commission is an eight-member advisory commission responsible for making recommendations to the city council regarding the acquisition, development, utilization, operation, improvement, equipment and maintenance of all park playgrounds and recreational areas owned or controlled by the city. The Commission is also responsible for making recommendations to the city council pertaining to the city's master park plan.

Commissioners are appointed by City Council with four (4) members serving at-large, two (2) members serving as representatives of the Dripping Springs Independent School District, and two (2) members serving as representatives of the Dripping Springs Youth Sports Association. For more information regarding the Parks & Recreation Commission please contact please contact City Secretary Andrea Cunningham at acunningham@cityofdrippingsprings.com, or call City Hall at (512) 858-4725. To submit an application for a seat on the Parks & Recreation Commission, please click here.

The Commission meets the 1st Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers located at City Hall - 511 Mercer Street, Dripping Springs, Texas. Residents and the public are welcome and encouraged to attend Emergency Management Commission Meetings. Please see the <u>City Calendar</u> for meeting dates and times.

Agendas and Minutes

Commission Members		Term Expiration
At-Large	Paul Fushille	06/30/2021
At-Large	Wade King	06/30/2022
At-Large	Amber Ballman	06/30/2021
At-Large	Robbie Zamora, Chair	06/30/2021
DSISD Representative	Matthew Fougerat	06/30/2022
DSISD Representative	Eric Henline	06/30/2022
DSYSA Representative	Eric Russell, Vice Chair	06/30/2022
DSYSA Representative	Matthew Zarbaugh	06/30/2021

There are 4 Commissioner seats that are scheduled to expire 06/30/2021 –

- 1. At- Large Paul Fushille
- 2. At-Large Amber Ballman
- 3. At-Large Chair Robbie Zamora
- 4. DSYSA Representative Matthew Zarbaugh

Staff Staff recommends and supports the recommendation of the Commissioners.

Recommendation:

Attachments: 1. PRC Ordinance

Next Steps/Schedule: Convey recommendation to City Secretary and present next steps to the City

Council for review and approval.