

## STAFF REPORT

# **City of Dripping Springs**

### **PO Box 384**

#### **511 Mercer Street**

**Dripping Springs, TX 78602** 

**Submitted By:** Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

**Council Meeting Date:** August 18, 2020

**Agenda Item Wording:** Approval of the reappointment of members to the Founders Day Commission

for terms ending June 30, 2022: Brenda Medcalf, At-Large; Michael Monaghan, St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church representative; Jeff Shindler and Brian Varnell, Dripping Springs Cook-Off Club representatives; Sharon Goss and Brad Thomas, Dripping Springs Lions Club representatives; and the reappointment of Brenda Medcalf as the Commission Chair for a term of one

year.

**Agenda Item Requestor:** Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Summary/Background: Description & Membership

The Founders Day Commission is a fourteen-member advisory commission comprised of 4 at-large members, 3 representatives of St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church, 3 representatives of the Dripping Springs Cook-Off Club, and 3 representatives of the Dripping Springs Lions Club.

The Commission is tasked with managing the Annual Founders Day celebration and for planning, promoting, arranging, and organizing Founders Day. The Commission makes recommendations to City Council regarding the improvement and safe operation of the Founders Day celebration.

#### **Appointments**

The appointment of members and chairperson are made by the City Council upon recommendation by the Commission. The following organization nominations and applications for at-large seats were provided for the Founders Day Commission recommendation at their August 10<sup>th</sup> regular meeting:

- At-Large Seats, 2 vacancies: Brenda Medcalf (incumbent), Pam Owens, Lee Sawyer, and Steffany Duke
- St. Martin de Porres, 1 vacancy: Michael Monaghan (incumbent)
- Cook-Off Club, 2 vacancies: Jeff Shindler and Brian Varnell (incumbents)
- Lions Club, 2 vacancies: Sharon Goss and Brad Thomas (incumbents)

## Commission Recommendations:

The Commission recommended the reappointment of Brenda Medcalf, Michael Monaghan, Jeff Shindler, Brian Varnell, Sharon Goss and Brad Thomas for terms ending June 30, 2022 at the August 10<sup>th</sup> Regular Meeting.

Recommended **Council Actions:**  Staff recommends approval of the reappointments.

**Attachments:** 

- At-Large Applications (private)
  Organization Nominations

**Next Steps/Schedule:** 

- 1. Send updated roster and notification of reappointments to members
- 2. Update master log and FDC webpage