CT DEIPPING SPRING	STAFF REPORT City of Dripping Springs PO Box 384 511 Mercer Street Dripping Springs, TX 78620	
Submitted By:	Diana Boone, City Secretary	
Council Meeting Date:	July 2, 2024	
Agenda Item Wording:	Discuss and consider approval of the Reappointment of Olivia Barnard and the Appointment of Thomas Lengel to the Parks & Recreation Commission for a term ending June 30, 2026, and the Reappointment of Paul Fushille as the Commission Chair for a term of one (1) year.	
Agenda Item Requestor:	Diana Boone, City Secretary	
Summary/Background:	 Member Responsibilities Section 2.04.066 (a): The commission shall act generally in an advisory capacity to the city council in the acquisition, development, utilization, operation, improvement, equipment and maintenance of all park playgrounds and recreational areas owned or controlled by the city. Member Selection Section 2.04.064 (a) Composition. The commission shall be composed of eight members who are known to be interested in parks and public recreation and the proper use of leisure time of the people of the city. The members shall serve without pay. (b) DSISD. Two members of the commission shall be nominated by the DSISD, and each such nominee shall be appointed by the council to a two-year term of office. Each such member must reside within the boundaries of the DSISD. (c) City. Four members of the commission shall be appointed to a two-year term of office by the council. One of the three members may be a city councilmember. Each such member must reside within the city limits, the ETJ, or the boundaries of the DSISD. (d) DSYSA. Two members of the commission shall be nominated by the Dripping Springs Youth Sports Association (DSYSA), and each such nominee shall be appointed by the council to a two-year term of office. Each such member must reside within the city limits, the ETJ, or the boundaries of the DSISD. Membership Requirements DSISD Representatives are recommended by vote of the DSISD Board. City Representations must reside in the city limits, ETJ, or DSISD boundaries DSYSA Representatives are recommended by the DSYSA Board 	

Officer Appointments

The members of the commission shall nominate a person to serve annually as chairperson of the commission. The chairperson shall appoint a vice-chairperson.

<u>Membership</u>

The commission shall be composed of eight members who are known to be interested in parks and public recreation and the proper use of leisure time of the people of the city. The members shall serve without pay.

Member	Term	Seat Description
Paul Fushille, Chair	06/30/25	City, At-Large
Matthew Fougerat, Vice Chair	06/30/24	DSISD Representative
Olivia Barnard	06/30/26	DSISD Representative
Thomas Lengel	06/30/26	DSISD Representative
Hope Boatright	06/30/26	City, At-Large
Kristy Caldwell	06/30/25	City, At-Large
Dustin Cloutier	06/30/25	DSYSA Representative
Joe Wright	06/30/24	DSYSA Representative

Current Membership

Vacancies and Applicants

There are four (4) members with seats expired June 30, 2024. Three (3) members have requested reappointment and members Joe Wright and Mathew Fougerat has submitted their resignation.

Commission Chair Recommendation:	Chair Paul Fushille recommends the reappointment of Krisy Caldwell and Dustin Cloutier, and the appointment of Christian Krueger for terms ending June 30, 2025.		
Recommended Council Actions:	Staff recommends that Thomas Lengel by appointed to the Parks & Recreation Commission for a term ending on June 30, 2026; that Olivia Barnard be reappointed for a term ending June 30, 2026; and that Paul Fushille be reappointed as Commission Chair for a one year term.		
Attachments:	 Recommendation Applications 		
Next Steps/Schedule:	 Inform applicants of Council decision Update roster and website Send welcome letter and calendar invites Introduction email to Commission 		