

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Michelle Fischer, City Administrator

Council Meeting Date: December 5, 2023

Agenda Item Wording: Discuss and consider approval of a Resolution to cast eighteen

(18) votes towards the Election of Members of the Hays County Appraisal District Board of Directors. Sponsor: Mayor Bill Foulds,

Jr.

Agenda Item Requestor: Michelle Fischer, City Administrator

Summary/Background: Six nominees were submitted by the taxing entities to be considered for a place on the Hays Central Appraisal District Board of Directors for the 2024 term of office. The City of Dripping Springs may cast 18 votes to select five members to the Board. The city may cast all its votes for one candidate or distribute them among any number of candidates. The votes are due to the Chief Appraiser by December 15th.

> The function of the Hays Central Appraisal District Board of Directors is to adopt the Appraisal District's operating budget, contract for necessary services, appoint the Appraisal Review Board members, and make general policies on the Appraisal District's operations.

The nominees are Jeffrey Alystock, Joe Castillo, Nathan Cross, Jane Hughston, Norah Puente, and Meredith Schawe.

In July 2023, Mr. Leonard Olson resigned as the Dripping Springs ISD representative on the Hays CAD Board of Directors. On August 28, 2023, DSISD appointed Jeffrey Alystock to serve out the remainder of the term. On September 25, 2023, DSISD nominated Jeffrey Alystock as a candidate to run for election to the Hays CAD Board of Directors for the term beginning January 1, 2024, and ending on January 1, 2025. On November 13th DSISD cast all 902 of its votes for Jeffrey Alystock.

Commission Recommendations: N/A

Recommended Council Actions: Approve the resolution casting 18 votes for the candidate(s) of City

Council's choosing.

Attachments:

Memo, ballot, resolution.

Next Steps/Schedule:

Send Chief Appraiser executed resolution.