

## STAFF REPORT

## **City of Dripping Springs**

### **PO Box 384**

#### **511 Mercer Street**

**Dripping Springs, TX 78620** 

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

**Council Meeting Date:** August 3, 2020

Agenda Item Wording: Discuss and consider the Appointment of two (2) At-Large Members and

one (1) Hays Trinity Groundwater Conservation District Representative to the Utility Commission for terms ending June 30, 2023; and the appointment of a Commission Member to serve as the Chair for a term

of one (1) year.

Agenda Item Requestor: Ginger Faught, Deputy City Administrator

**Summary/Background:** 

The Utility Commission is a five-member advisory commission tasked with representing various citizen groups and their interests as part of the City Council's greater discussion of transportation, planning, and improvements. The Utility Commission shall assist the City in Wastewater Plant operations and reuse plans (including expansion), achieving the City's goal of 100% beneficial use and assisting the City with procedures and policies related to retail water services provided by the City.

Members of the Utility Commission are appointed by City Council with two members being nominated by the Hays Trinity Groundwater Conservation District (HTGCD), and where at least two members shall be residents of the City Limits. Members are appointed to serve a two year term.

#### **Current Commission**

Member	Term	Seat Description
Jim Langford, Chair	06/30/21	At-Large
Chuck Miller, Vice Chair	06/30/22	At-Large
Meghan Lind	06/30/21	At-Large
Roger Kew	06/31/21	HTGCD Representative
Jeff Foreman	06/31/22	HTGCD Representative

Confirmation has been received that the HTGCD Board has reappointed Roger Kew to his seat on the Commission.

There are two (2) At-Large seats for consideration. Public notice was sent for applications for appointment in April with a deadline for submission on May 31<sup>st</sup>.

Commissioners Jim Langford (Chair) and Meghan Lind have selected to roll off of the commission.

#### **Slate of Candidates**

Applicant	Background Experience	
Matthew Ordway	Facilities Design & Construction	
*Cory Kirk (2019)	Rancher	
*Michael Aulick (2019)	City & Transportation Planning	
*Bill Little (2019)	Utilities Planning & Development	
*Wesley Pitts (2019)	Landowner	
*Jeff Shaw (2019)	Managing Director Protect Our Water	
, ,		
*Bruce Turbow (2019)	Realtor	
*Zach West (2019)	Water & WW Project & Program Manager	

<sup>\*</sup>Per City policy, applicants not appointed shall remain on file for two (2) years. These applicants were notified that their applications would be included for consideration. No responses were received from the applicants and applications are included City policy.

# Commission Recommendation:

Commission Chair Jim Langford recommends the reappointment of Roger Kew and the appointment of Matthew Ordway. At this time, there is not a recommendation for the  $2^{nd}$  available at-large seat.

Commission Chair Jim Langford recommends the appointment of Chuck Miller as the Commission Chair.

## Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends the reappointment of Roger Kew and the appointment of Matthew Ordway. Additionally, staff recommends the appointment of chuck Miller as the Chair of the Commission.

#### **Attachments:**

- 1. Commissioner Langford Resignation
- 2. Applications for Appointment

### **Next Steps/Schedule:**

- 1. Notify applicants of Council decision welcome letters and denial letters
- 2. Update website and master roster
- 3. Notify commission of appointments and send updated roster
- 4. Send calendar invite to appointees