

# MEMORANDUM

то:	Deschutes County Board of Commissioners
FROM:	Peter Gutowsky, AICP, Director
DATE:	April 27, 2023
SUBJECT:	Bend Area Planning Commission Appointment / Continued Discussion

#### I. BACKGROUND

There are seven members currently appointed on the Planning Commission. They represent: At-large (2), Bend (2), Redmond, Sisters, and South County (1 each).<sup>1</sup> Their respective terms are shown in Table 1. Commissioners Crawford and Kirby complete their second and final terms on June 30, 2023.

Commissioner	Area	First or Second Term	Term Expiration
Susan Altman	Bend	First	June 30, 2024
Dale Crawford	At-large	Second	June 30, 2023
Matt Cyrus	Sisters	First	June 30, 2026
Nathan Hovekamp	At-large	First	June 30, 2024
Jessica Kieras	Redmond	Second	June 30, 2026
Maggie Kirby	Bend	Second	June 30, 2023
Toni Williams	South County	First	June 30, 2025

#### Table 1 – Planning Commissioner Terms

### II. TUMALO AREA APPOINTMENT

Last Wednesday, the Board of County Commissioners (Board) appointed Kelsey Carson to the Planning Commission, representing the Tumalo area effective July 1. This action reassigns the At-large vacancy left by Commissioner Crawford.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <u>https://deschutescounty.municipalcodeonline.com/book?type=ordinances#name=CHAPTER 2.52 DESCHUTES COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION.</u>

DCC 2.52.040(D). The membership of the commission shall, as much as possible, be representative of the various geographic areas of the County. This should generally consist of the following: One member from the south County area of La Pine and Sunriver (Townships 19-22); two members from the Bend area (Townships 17 and 18); one member from the Tumalo area (Townships 16, Ranges 11 or 12); one member from the Sisters area (Townships 14 or 15, Ranges 9, 10 and 11); one member from the Redmond area (Townships 14 or 15, Ranges 12 or 13); and one member at large. Failure to achieve such geographic representation shall not affect the validity of any action taken by the planning commission.

## III. BEND AREA VACANCY

In coordination with Legal Counsel, there are two options to address the forthcoming Bend area Planning Commissioner vacancy.

• <u>Option 1</u>: Appoint Commissioner Hovekamp to a full four year term for the Bend area through June 30, 2027 and proceed with the At-large interviews (created by Hovekamp's reassignment to the Bend area) scheduled for May 12.

The Board recently provided staff their list of top candidates for the At-large position. They are noted in Table 2.

Adair	Chang	DeBone
Helen Marston	Mark Kelley	Helen Marson
Patrick Trowbridge	Andrew Aasen	Mark Kelley

#### Table 2 – Interview Candidates for At-large Position

Gabriel Coler, Robert Fish, and Jack Farley, finalists that the Board interviewed for the Tumalo area vacancy, remain under consideration for the At-large position. However, they would not be subject to a second interview.

• <u>Option 2</u>: Commissioner Hovekamp remains in his At-large position. The forthcoming At-large interviews are canceled and staff immediately initiates a recruitment for the Bend area position vacated by Commissioner Kirby.