PUBLIC UTILITIES

SEWER SERVICE

SERVICE DELIVERY AGREEMENT

THIS SERVICE DELIVERY AGREEMENT, is made and entered into this _____ day of October, 2022, by and among **Whitfield County, Georgia**, a body politic and political subdivision of the State of Georgia (hereinafter referred to as the "County"), the **cities of Dalton, Varnell** and **Tunnel Hill** and the **Town of Cohutta**, municipal corporations organized and existing under the laws of the State of Georgia, (hereinafter referred to collectively as the "Cities" and individually as a "City" or "Town.")

WHEREAS, OCGA §36-70-20 et seq. mandate that Whitfield County and all municipalities located therein shall participate in the development of a Service Delivery Strategy through which Whitfield County and said municipalities shall create and maintain a service delivery system which is efficient, effective, and responsive to all citizens of Whitfield County;

WHEREAS, OCGA §36-70-24(1) mandates that said Service Delivery Strategy shall identify steps which will be taken to remediate or avoid overlapping and unnecessary competition and duplication of service delivery, and that said Service Delivery Strategy shall identify the time frame in which such steps shall be taken; and

WHEREAS, OCGA §36-70-25 mandates that said Service Delivery Strategy receive the approval of Whitfield County and the governing authorities of municipalities located within Whitfield County, as is more particularly described in that Code Section;

NOW, THEREFORE, we, the undersigned, being duly authorized to act on behalf of the above-named parties, in consideration of the mutual covenants and promises contained herein, agree as follows concerning Sewer Service within Whitfield County:

WITNESSETH

1. Description of Current Service Delivery Arrangements.

The provision of sewer services in Whitfield County and its municipalities will be provided by the City of Dalton through Dalton Utilities. To meet the needs of its citizens, the City of Dalton, in 1873, took the first steps to create a sewer works system, by local act of the Georgia Legislature. The City of Dalton, in 1913, by an act of the Georgia General Assembly, reorganized its utility division by creating the Board of Water, Light and Sinking Fund Commissioners, which is the governing body that presently operates the utilities of the City of Dalton. This Board and its operating entity (hereinafter "Dalton Utilities") presently provide gas, electric, water and sewer services to the City of Dalton, Certain unincorporated portions of Murray, Gordon, and Floyd counties. Other than the provision of utility services through Whitfield County to certain areas in the county, neither Whitfield County nor any of the other municipalities within its borders own, operate, or provide water, sewer, gas or electric services to their citizens. Sufficient electrical service has been provided to all county residents by Dalton Utilities, North Georgia Electric Membership Corporation and Georgia Power Company. The demands of the county and municipalities other than Dalton for potable water and sewage treatment have been satisfied by the drilling of wells and installation of individual septic systems.

With the growth of the entire county and its municipalities, greater demand has been made upon the area's natural resources. Lands ideal for installation and operation of wells and septic systems having been substantially developed, the development of less suitable lands has resulted in a growing need for the expansion of water through Whitfield County.

The County and its municipalities jointly developed the future land use plan. This land use plan and amendments thereto shall be of main consideration in developing a wastewater master plan and amendments thereto detailing the collection and treatment strategy to support future development patterns.

2. Future Service Delivery Strategy.

The parties hereto agree that the current service delivery arrangements described above are efficient, effective, and responsive to all citizens of Whitfield County. In order to further serve those above stated goals, the parties additionally agree that the expansion of sewer service into unincorporated areas of the municipalities other than the City of Dalton shall be subject to the adoption of separate intergovernmental agreements at the time of any such project. The parties agree that sewer service shall be funded through rates.

Further, the parties hereto agree that no duplication exists in the provision of sewer service within Whitfield County, for the reasons set forth above.

The parties hereto agree that should any party undertake any action which may result in overlapping, competition, or duplication in the current service delivery arrangements or in the future service delivery strategy described in this Service Delivery Agreement, that party shall notify the other parties to this Agreement, so as to facilitate continued compliance with the requirements of Georgia law as referenced above.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, each of the undersigned has executed this Service Delivery Agreement on behalf of the respective party set forth below, pursuant to the authority granted to each of the undersigned in the resolution by which each party approved and adopted this Service Delivery Agreement.

[SIGNATURES ON FOLLOWING PAGE]

Whitfield County, Georgia

By: _____

Jevin S. Jensen, Chairman

City of Dalton, Georgia

By: _____

David Pennington, Mayor

City of Tunnel Hill, Georgia

By:_____

Ken Gowin, Mayor

City of Varnell, Georgia

By:_____

Tom Dickson, Mayor

Town of Cohutta

By:_____

Ron Shinnick, Mayor