MINUTES OF THE CROCKETT CITY COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON THE 23rd DAY OF OCTOBER 2023 IN THE CITY HALL COUNCIL CHAMBERS, LOCATED AT 200 NORTH FIFTH IN THE CITY OF CROCKETT, HOUSTON COUNTY TEXAS AT 6:00 P.M.

THE COUNCIL MET IN SPECIAL SESSION WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS PRESENT: IANTHIA FISHER, DENNIS IVEY, ERNEST JACKSON, MARQUITA BEASLEY & MIKE MARSH. CITY OFFICIALS PRESENT: CITY ADMINISTRATOR JOHN ANGERSTEIN. DARRELL JONES WAS ABSENT.

OPEN MEETING WITH INVOCATION AND PLEDGE

Mayor Fisher called the formal session open; Council member Ivey gave the invocation, and all joined in the pledge.

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS

Mayor Fisher recognized all visitors present.

COMMENTS FROM AUDIENCE OR COUNCIL (At this time, anyone will be allowed to speak on City related matters only; no personnel matters or matters under litigation will be allowed. The length of time may not exceed three minutes. NO Council discussion or action may take place on a matter until such matter has been placed on an agenda and posted in accordance with law.)

• There were no public comments.

BUSINESS

1. CONSIDER AND APPROVE SELECTION AND APPOINTMENTS OF THE CHARTER REVIEW COMMISSION PURSUANT TO LOCAL GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 9.004 AND DESIGNATE A CHAIRMAN OF THE CHARTER REVIEW COMMISSION

The following citizens were nominated by the Mayor and City Council members for appointment to the Charter Review Commission:

Jim Turner	Tim Allen	Angela Brice	Wayne Lacy
Ansel Bradshaw	Pamela Slate	NaTrenia Hicks	Shannon Harris
Courtney Yarbrough	LaQuinta Beasley	Christopher Price	Chuck Cunningham
Ray Bruner			

After a lengthy discussion about the eligibility of NaTrenia Hicks due to her removal from the CEIDC board of directors for violating the Open Meetings Act, Council member Jackson made a motion to accept the list of appointees to the Charter Review Commission in its entirety. Council member Beasley seconded the motion. Motion passes 3-1. Mayor Pro Tem Marsh voted against the motion.

Council member Beasley made a motion to appoint Jim Turner as chairperson of the Charter Review Commission. Council member Jackson seconded the motion. Council

member Ivey and Mayor Pro Tem Marsh voted against the motion.	Mayor Fisher	cast the
deciding vote in favor of the motion. Motion passes.		

ADJOURNMENT

Without objection, Mayor Fis	sher adjourned the meeting at 6:15 P.M.
	Dr. Ianthia Fisher, Mayor
ATTEST:	