ORDINANCE NO.

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING SECTION 2.72.040 (MEMBERSHIP; COMPENSATION) OF CHAPTER 2.72 (CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION) OF TITLE 2 (ADMINISTRATION AND PERSONNEL) OF THE CITY OF CREST HILL CODE OF ORDINANCES

WHEREAS, the City of Crest Hill is authorized by its adoption of Division 1 to create and appoint members of a Civil Service Commission pursuant to Section 10-1-1 of the Illinois Municipal Code (65 ILCS 5/10-1-1) and

WHEREAS, the City of Crest Hill has previously exercised said authority by adopting Title 2, Chapter 2.72, Sections 2.72.010 through 2.72.040 creating a Civil Service Commission; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.72.040 of the Crest Hill Code governs the membership, attendance, and compensation of the City's Civil Service Commission members; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to its express authority granted by the Illinois Municipal Code, the City of Crest Hill has from time to time deemed it necessary to amend its Code of Ordinances; and

WHEREAS, the Corporate Authorities have determined that Section 2.72.040 should be amended to increase the compensation for Civil Service Commission Members and to replace references to "Chairman" with "Chairperson;" and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED by the Corporate Authorities of the City of Crest Hill, Illinois, as follows:

SECTION 1: PREAMBLE. The preamble of this Ordinance is declared to be true and correct and is incorporated by reference as if fully set forth in this Section 1.

SECTION 2: APPROVAL.

Section 2.72.040 (Membership; compensation) of Chapter 2.72 (Civil Service Commission) of Title 2 (Administration and Personnel) of the City of Crest Hill Code of Ordinances is hereby repealed in its entirety and replaced as follows, with all other sections of Chapter 2.72 remaining unchanged:

§ 2.72.040 MEMBERSHIP; COMPENSATION.

(A) The Civil Service Commission of the city shall consist of three members as provided by law. The members shall elect a chairperson to preside over the meetings. The Commission shall be governed by their own by-laws.

(B) The Chairperson of the Civil Service Commission shall be paid the sum of \$60 per regular meeting attended. The Chairperson of the Civil Service Commission shall be allowed one (1) paid absence from meetings per calendar year. Additional absences beyond one (1) per calendar year shall be unpaid. If the Chairperson is

absent for more than three (3) scheduled meetings in a calendar year, it may result in removal from the Civil Service Commission. Additionally, the Chairperson of the Civil Service Commission shall be paid \$60 per special meeting attended.

(C) The regular members of the Civil Service Commission shall be paid the sum of \$50 per regular meeting attended. The regular members of the Civil Service Commission shall be allowed one (1) paid absence from meetings per calendar year. Additional absences beyond one (1) per calendar year shall be unpaid. If a regular member is absent for more than three (3) scheduled meetings in a calendar year, it may result in removal from the Civil Service Commission. Additionally, the regular members of the Civil Service Commission shall be paid \$50 per special meeting attended.

('78 Code, § 2.72.040) (Ord. 1093, passed 5-17-99)

SECTION 3: SEVERABILITY. If any section, paragraph, clause, or provision of this Ordinance is held invalid, the invalidity of such section, paragraph, clause, or provision shall not affect any other provision of this Ordinance.

SECTION 4: REPEALER. All ordinances, resolutions or orders, or parts thereof, which conflict with the provisions of this Ordinance are to the extent of such conflict hereby repealed.

SECTION 5: EFFECTIVE DATE. This Ordinance shall be in full force and effect immediately upon its passage and publication according to law.

[LEFT INTENTIONALLY BLANK]

PASSED THIS 2ND DAY OF DECEMBER, 2024.

	Aye	Nay	Absent	Abstain
Alderwoman Jennifer Methvin				
Alderman Scott Dyke				
Alderwoman Claudia Gazal				
Alderman Darrell Jefferson				
Alderperson Tina Oberlin				
Alderman Mark Cipiti				
Alderman Nate Albert				
Alderman Joe Kubal				
Mayor Raymond R. Soliman				
5 5				

Christine Vershay-Hall, City Clerk

APPROVED THIS 2ND DAY OF DECEMBER, 2024.

Raymond R. Soliman, Mayor

ATTEST:

Christine Vershay-Hall, City Clerk