

Bladensburg Colmar Manor Cottage City Edmonston

Joint Resolution No. 2025-01

A JOINT RESOLUTION OF THE MAYORS AND COMMISSION CHAIR, COUNCILS, AND COMMISSION OF THE PORT TOWNS OF BLADENSBURG, COLMAR MANOR, COTTAGE CITY, AND EDMONSTON TO FORM A COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION (CDC) AND ESTABLISH A GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE

WHEREAS, the Towns of Bladensburg, Colmar Manor, Cottage City, and Edmonston (hereinafter referred to as the "Port Towns") recognize the importance of regional collaboration to drive economic development, infrastructure investment, and community enhancement; and

WHEREAS, the Port Towns seek to establish a Community Development Corporation (CDC) to enhance economic growth, cooperatively build infrastructure, preserve cultural and historical character, promote environmental sustainability, and improve the quality of life for all residents within the Port Towns communities; and

WHEREAS, the Port Towns have previously resolved to work jointly on the formation of a CDC, and the final trade name of the organization will be determined by a vote of the governing board upon establishment; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Towns of Bladensburg, Colmar Manor, Cottage City, and Edmonston formally support the creation of a new Community Development Corporation and agree to the following governance structure and key operational principles:

Board Membership and Governance Structure:

- 1. **Membership:** The initial Board of Directors shall consist of nine (9) members. Each Town shall appoint two (2) representatives to the Board, with at least one elected official from the respective Council or Commission. Appointments shall be submitted in writing to the Board Chair.
- 2. **At-Large Member:** One (1) at-large member shall be appointed on a rotating basis for a two-year term. This individual shall represent a local business or business association and be selected by a majority vote of the Board.

- 3. **Ex-Officio Members:** The Town Administrators and/or Town Managers shall serve as ex-officio officers, providing advisory and operational support.
- 4. **Board Chair:** The Board of Directors shall select a Chair by majority vote to serve a two-year term. The position may rotate, or the Board may determine an alternate process.
- 5. **Attendance Requirements:** Members must attend at least 50% of the meetings annually. If a Board member exceeds 50% unexcused absences, the Board shall consult with the appointing Town regarding reappointment.

Committee Structure:

The Board shall establish committees composed of Board members and appointed community stakeholders to focus on key development areas. The core committees shall include:

- Economic Development and Redevelopment
- Infrastructure and Sustainability
- Community Engagement and Quality of Life
- Tourism, Historic Sites, and Community Assets

 The Board may create additional special committees as needed through a majority vote.

Meetings and Reporting:

- The Board shall convene at least four (4) times yearly.
- An end-of-year report, summarizing accomplishments, financial status, and strategic updates, shall be submitted to each Town by March 30th of the following calendar year.

Funding and Financial Support:

- 1. **Town Contributions:** Each participating Town shall contribute at least 20% of the total annual expenses or an equal share of the organization's operational costs.
- 2. **Grants and External Funding:** The CDC shall serve as a collaborative entity to pursue grant funding and leverage financial resources for community capacity-building and infrastructure improvements.

Strategic Development and Economic Growth Initiatives:

- The CDC shall actively promote economic development opportunities across the Port Towns region.
- To foster business growth and community revitalization.
- The organization shall seek partnerships with economic development entities, such as Main Street programs and Business Improvement Districts (BIDs).

Bylaws Development:

- The Board shall draft and adopt formal bylaws within 180 days of the CDC's formation.
- Finalized bylaws shall be distributed to all member Towns upon adoption.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Port Towns of Bladensburg, Colmar Manor, Cottage City, and Edmonston are committed to fostering economic prosperity, sustainable development, and enhanced community collaboration through the formation of this Community Development Corporation.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 14th day of May, 2025, by the Mayors, Chair of the Commission, Councils and Commission of the Port Towns.

WITNESS:	ATTEST
	Takisha James, Mayor Town of Bladensburg
Town Clerk, Town of Bladensburg	
	Monica Casanas, Mayor Town of Colmar Manor
Town Clerk, Town of Colmar Manor	
Town Manager, Town of Cottage City	Wanda Wheatley, Commissioner Chair Town of Cottage City
	Tracy R. Gant, Mayor Town of Edmonston
Town Clark Town of Edmonston	_