BOARDS, COMMISSIONS & AUTHORITIES

Commission on International Relations & Cultural Liaison Encounters (CIRCLE):

This board promotes and coordinates communication, contacts and encounters between Columbus and the people of other nations and facilitates cross-culture communications and association among the various national groups in Columbus. It has twelve (12) members, with four members being appointed by the Mayor and eight being appointed by the Columbus Council. (Ordinance No. 96-7)

Board Members	Term Expiration	Appointment
Akear Mewborn (SD-29)	03/01/2022	Mayor
Mary Quiller (SD-15)	03/01/2023	Council
John Jackson (SD-15)	03/01/2023	Council
Eric Spears (SD-29)	03/01/2023	Mayor
VACANT	03/01/2024	Council
Aaron Guest (SD-29)	03/01/2024	Mayor
Chie Canady (SD-29)	03/01/2024	Council
Alia Teetshorn (SD-15)	03/01/2024	Council
Merrill Rushin (SD-15)	03/01/2024	Mayor
Natasha Banks (SD-15)	03/01/2025	Council
Samantha Wooden (SD-15)	03/01/2025	Council
Mattie Hall (SD-15)	03/01/2026	Council

Expiring Term(s):

The terms of office for Ms. Mary Quiller, Mr. John Jackson, and Dr. Eric Spears will expire on March 1, 2023. These are four (4) year terms that would expire on March 1, 2027. One seat is the Mayor's Appointment; Dr. Spears is eligible to succeed himself. The other two seats are the Council's Appointments; Ms. Quiller and Mr. Jackson are eligible to succeed themselves.

Notes:

Ms. Akear Mewborn does not desire reappointment since her term expired on March 1, 2022.

At least six members must be United States citizens and registered Columbus voters, but because of the Commission's mission, up to half of the members need not meet this criterion. (Ordinance No. 96-7)