COLUMBUS CONSOLIDATED GOVERNMENT

BOARDS, COMMISSIONS & AUTHORITIES

<u>Board of Water Commissioners:</u> This board has the responsibility for the operations of the Columbus Water Works. It is established by Act No 54, adopted by the General Assembly of Georgia on December 3, 1902. (GA Laws 1902, Page 370-377) It has five (5) members. The Mayor serves as one of the five members, the other four are appointed by the Columbus Council in the month of July for terms beginning the following January. (GA Law 1902, Page 370-377, Columbus Charter, Sec. 4-600) The term of office is four (4) years.

Board Members	Term Expiration	Appointment
Rebecca Rumer (SD-29)	12/31/2023	Council
Rodney Close (SD-29)	12/31/2024	Council
Wes Kelley (SD-15)	12/31/2025	Council
Clint W. Cox (SD-29)	12/31/2026	Council
Mayor Skip Henderson	Continues in Office	
Steve Davis, CWW President	Continues in Office	

Expiring Term(s):

The term of office for Rebecca Rumer will expire on December 31, 2023. This is a four (4) year term that would expire on December 31, 2027. This is Council's Appointment; Ms. Rumer is not eligible to succeed herself and would prefer to vacate her seat once the appointment is made. Since the nominee would typically begin the new term in January; the suggestion is to confirm an appointment to start immediately by filling the unexpired term of Ms. Rumer and allow the appointee to begin the first full term in January 2024 without bringing the appointment back to Council in December of 2023.