RESOLUTION

N	Ο.		
1.4	\ /.		

A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICERS RECRUITMENT AND RETENTION INITIATIVE.

WHEREAS, The Public Safety Officer Recruitment and Retention Initiative addresses the critical recruitment and retention of Public Safety Officers and 911 Communications Technicians in the Police Department, Sheriff's Office, Fire/EMS, and Muscogee County Prison; and

WHEREAS, Law Enforcement Agencies have been called upon to respond to a significant number of incidents involving criminal activity in the Columbus community.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF COLUMBUS, GEORGIA, AS FOLLOWS:

To authorize the funding for the Public Safety Officer Recruitment and Retention Initiative. New Recruit Officers receive a \$5,000 sign-on bonus beginning January 1, 2022 and replaces the current \$2,000 sign-on bonus. Sworn Officers in the following departments will receive the \$5,000 sign-on bonus: Police, Sheriff's Office, and Muscogee County Prison. Officers will receive a total of \$5,000 sign-on bonus prorated; replaces the current \$2,000 sign-on bonus for calendar year 2022.

Sworn Officers and 911 Communications Techs in the following departments will receive Retention Bonus: Police, Muscogee County Prison, Fire/EMS, and Sheriff's Office. Sworn Officers and 911 Communications Tech will receive a \$1,500 retention bonus each quarter beginning the 4th Quarter 2021 (Oct-Nov-Dec), 1st Quarter 2022 (Jan-Feb-Mar), 2nd Quarter 2022 (April-May-June), 3rd Quarter 2022 (July-Aug-Sept), and 4th Quarter 2022 (Oct-Nov-Dec).

On the date the new pay plan becomes effective as approved by Council, or December 31, 2022, whichever comes first, the additional sign-on bonus and retention supplement will sunset. Columbus Council must authorize the use of salary savings to pay for the aforementioned bonuses.

Introduced at a regular meeting of the Council of Columbus, Georgia held on the 14th day of December 2021 and adopted at said meeting by the affirmative vote of ____ members of said Council.

Councilor Crabb voting Councilor Davis voting Councilor Garrett voting Councilor House voting	Councilor Allen	voting
Councilor Davis voting Councilor Garrett voting Councilor House voting	Councilor Barnes	voting
Councilor Davis voting Councilor Garrett voting Councilor House voting	Councilor Crabb	voting
Councilor Garrett voting Councilor House voting	Councilor Davis	
_	Councilor Garrett	voting
_	Councilor House	voting
	Councilor Huff	voting

 Sandra T. Davis Clerk of Council		B. H. "Skip" Henderson, III Mayor
Councilor Tucker Councilor Woodson	voting voting	
Councilor Thomas	voting	