WHEREAS, Columbus Council has expressed its intention to prohibit littering on all public and private property in Sec. 13-151 through Sec. 13-155 of the Columbus Code;

WHEREAS, this Council desires to reaffirm its zero-tolerance policy against littering in the Columbus Consolidated Government in Columbus, Georgia;

WHEREAS, persons convicted of littering in Columbus, Georgia face penalties for littering in Columbus including imprisonment up to 90 days and fines up to \$1,000.00 for each offense; and further, in the discretion of the court, persons violating the litter prohibition may be directed to remove litter from any public street or right-of-way for a distance not to exceed one mile per day;

WHEREAS, The Great American Cleanup, sponsored by Keep Columbus Beautiful, will be held on March 6, 2021 from 9:00am - 1:00pm in Columbus, Georgia with an information number of (706) 225-4008;

WHEREAS, this Council desires that the Columbus courts including Recorder's Court, Municipal Court, State Court and Superior Court assist law enforcement and special enforcement officers in prohibiting littering in Columbus, Georgia and enforcing a zero-tolerance policy of littering in our community.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE COUNCIL OF COLUMBUS, GEORGIA HEREBY RESOLVES AS FOLLOWS:

This Council hereby encourages all Columbus citizens to participate in the Great American Cleanup sponsored by Keep Columbus Beautiful on March 6, 2021 from 9:00am - 1:00pm. We further request assistance from the Recorder's Court, Municipal Court, State Court and Superior Court in enforcing a zero-tolerance policy against littering in Columbus, including imposition of all penalties provided in Columbus Code Sec. 13-155, as appropriate, and any other relevant provision of Georgia law. Let a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Executive Director of Keep Columbus Beautiful and the Chief Judges of Recorder's Court, Municipal Court, State Court, and Muscogee County Superior Court.

Presented at the regular meeting of the Council of Columbus, Georgia, held on the 23rd day of February 2021 and adopted by a vote of ten members of said Council.

Councilor	Allen	YES
Councilor	Barnes	YES
Councilor	Crabb	YES
Councilor	Davis	YES
Councilor	Garrett	YES
Councilor	House	YES
Councilor	Huff	YES
Councilor	Thompson	YES
Councilor	Tucker	YES
Councilor	Woodson	YES