## RESOLUTION

NO.\_\_\_\_

WHEREAS, the Judicial State of Emergency declared by the Chief Justice of the Georgia Supreme Court due to the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency has been renewed four times and currently continues in effect, but it provides that certain services and court proceedings will go forward during the time of the emergency; and

WHEREAS, the Muscogee County Courthouse has limited space and elevator capacity, and the Superior Courts, State Courts, Municipal, and Magistrate's Court will continue to need to accommodate increasingly large number of members of the public while maintaining appropriate social distancing and protecting staff and those participating in judicial proceedings; and

WHEREAS, Official Code of Georgia Annotated Section 15-6-18 provides that when it is impracticable to hold any session of state or superior court at the courthouse, it shall be lawful to hold court and any session sitting in such place as the proper authorities of the County in and for which the court is to be held may from time to time provide; and

WHEREAS, this Council deems it appropriate to designate additional temporary alternative locations for all Superior, State, Municipal, and Magistrate Courts sitting in Muscogee County to hold proceedings during the COVID-19 emergency and reopening period.

## NOW, THEREFORE, THE COUNCIL OF COLUMBUS, GEORGIA, HEREBY RESOLVES AS FOLLOWS:

We hereby designate the City Services Center, the 10<sup>th</sup> Street Annex, the Columbus Civic Center, the Columbus Ice Rink, and the Columbus Iron Works Trade and Convention Center as additional available courthouse facilities for the purpose of holding any of the above mentioned Court proceedings up to and including September 1, 2020, unless further extended by judicial order or resolution of this Council.

Let a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Chief Judge Bemon McBride of the Chattahoochee Judicial Circuit and State Court Judges Andy Prather and Ben Richardson, and Municipal Court Judge Stephen Smith.

| <br> | <br> |  |
|------|------|--|

| Georgia, held on the 28th            | th day of | eting of the Council of Columbus, f July, 2020 and adopted at said of members of Council. |
|--------------------------------------|-----------|---|
| Councilor Allen                      |           |   |
| Councilor Barnes<br>Councilor Crabb  |           |   |
|                                      |           |   |
| Councilor Davis<br>Councilor Garrett | voting    |   |
| Councilor Garrett Councilor House    | -         |   |
| Councilor Huff                       | _         | <del></del>   |
| Councilor Thomas                     | 2         | <del></del>   |
| Councilor Thomas                     | _         |   |
| Councilor Woodson                    | _         |   |
| Councilor woodson                    | VOCING    |   |
|                                      |           |   |
|                                      |           |   |
|                                      |           |   |
| Sandra T. Davis                      |           | B.H. "Skip" Henderson, III  |
| Clerk of Council                     |           | Mayor   |