COLUMBUS CONSOLIDATED GOVERNMENT

BOARDS, COMMISSIONS & AUTHORITIES

Board of Tax Assessors: The Board of Assessors operates independently as the agency charged with the responsibility of determining taxability and establishing the fair market value of all real and personal property for ad valorem taxation purposes. The Board is also responsible for notifying taxpayers when there are changes to the fair market value of property. The Board receives, reviews, and insures the proper processing of all appeals. The Board reviews all applications for exemptions and approves or denies the applications in accordance with the requirements set forth in Section 48-5-41 of the Georgia Code. Members are appointed by the Columbus Council. It has five members who must meet special qualifications as required by Georgia Law. The term is six years. (O.C.C.G., Sec.48-5-290 and 48-5-291, Columbus Charter, Sec. 4-624, and Columbus Code, Sec. 19-21 through 19-29)

Board Members	Term Expiration	Appointment
Jayne Govar (SD-29)	12/31/2022	Council
Todd Hammons (SD-29)	12/31/2023	Council
Trey Carmack (SD-29)	12/31/2025	Council
Lanitra Sandifer Hicks (SD-15)	12/31/2026	Council
Kathy J. Jones (SD-29)	12/31/2027	Council

Expiring Term(s):

The term of office for Jayne Govar will expire on December 31, 2022. These are six (6) year terms that will expire on December 31, 2028. These are Council's Appointments; Ms. Govar is eligible to succeed herself.