## City Ordinance Changes:

Sec. 2-48(a) – Committees, is repealed in its entirety and recreated to now read as follows: Sec. 2-48(a) – Committees. (a) The Council is authorized to create committees to assist in the governance of the City. Unless required by statute, or as otherwise set forth in this Code of Ordinances, each committee shall have 7 members, and each member shall be a resident of the City of Columbus. Each member shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the Common Council and shall serve for a three-year term. Each committee shall have 1 council member as a voting 45 Item #4. 2 Error! Unknown document property name. member. The Council member shall be appointed by the Mayor at the Council's first meeting in May each year to serve a one-year term. Each committee shall have a president and vice president which shall be elected by the members of the committee at its first meeting in May each year, or as soon thereafter as the committee may meet. Each committee shall have a member of City staff acting as a liaison to the committee and to further act as secretary of the committee. Four voting members present shall constitute a quorum for each committee session.

## According to Wisconsin State Statutes:

- The Municipality (i.e. City of Columbus) is required to have 4 6 members for a Tourism Commission
  - From these members, a Chair, Vice Chair, and Treasurer
- The Municipality may contract with a Tourism entity that reports to the commission