

COBURG CITY COUNCIL ACTION ITEM

Park | Tree Citizen Advisory Committee Appointment

Meeting Date	Staff Contact	Phone	Email
January 9, 2024	Brian Harmon,	541-682-7857	brian.harmon@ci.coburg.or.us
	Public Works		
	Director		

REQUESTED COUNCIL ACTION

Annual appointment of the Park | Tree Citizen Advisory Committee voting members.

Suggested Motion

"I move that Mayor Bell appoint Tom Beatty, Karen Coury, Coleen Marshall, Lonna Meston, Joe Morneau, Mary Mosier and Michelle Shattuck as the seven voting members of the Park | Tree Citizen advisory Committee for the 2024 calendar year."

BACKGROUND

Park | Tree Advisory Committee Bylaws state all terms expire on December 31st. Existing members wishing to continue to serve will automatically be included in the appointments for the upcoming year.

The Committee consists of seven voting committee members that reside within the Coburg Fire District. Current members are:

- Tom Beatty
- Karen Coury
- Coleen Marshall
- Lonna Meston
- Joe Morneau
- Mary Mosier
- Michelle Shattuck

RECOMMENDATION AND ALTERNATIVES

1. Recommendation it to appoint the seven voting committee members.

BUDGET / FINANCIAL IMPACT

This committee meets monthly and is staffed by the Public Works Director and is required to follow Oregon Public meeting law. As with all public meetings, "soft costs" are incurred for staff time for meeting preparation (agenda/packets), meeting posting (website, social media, etc) meeting attendance and meeting minutes preparation. Staff is currently piloting a transition from contract minute taking services to an in-house model that has already shown indications of cost savings and enhanced quality of the product.

PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT

Not required for the annual appointments per bylaws Article IV, Section 4.

NEXT STEPS

At the Park | Tree Citizen Advisory Committee Meeting on January the appointed Committee members will elect a Chair and Vice Chair for 2024.

ATTACHMENTS

1. Park | Tree Citizen Advisory Committee Bylaws.