

MINUTES

Coburg Heritage Committee Meeting

September 11, 2024 at 6:00 P.M.
Coburg City Hall
91136 N Willamette Street

MEMBERS PRESENT: Marissa Doyle, Chair; Michelle Shattuck, Vice Chair; Stephen Sheehan

MEMBERS ABSENT: Ronald Spores, Shannon Sardell

GUESTS/STAFF PRESENT: Megan Winner; Planning Director, Jeanne Schapper, Nanci McKibben;

Coburg Community Foundation

RECORDED BY: Madison Balcom, Administrative Assistant

CALL TO ORDER

Chair, Marissa Doyle called the meeting of the Coburg Heritage Committee to order at 6:01 pm.

ROLL CALL

Planning Director, Megan Winner called roll. A quorum was present.

AGENDA REVIEW

No changes.

SPECIAL GUESTS – Coburg Community Foundation

The Coburg Community Foundation guests, Jeanne Schapper and Nanci McKibben, said that believe to have a common initiative as the Heritage Committee. They mentioned that they've done a few interviews, and they have a grant for that project, so they proposed the idea of combining resources with the committee to continue this project and get more oral history on Coburg.

The committee liked the idea of collaborating on this project, however Ms. Winner stated that they are still in the very early stages and have not conducted any interviews yet. The committee also received the CLG grant for Historic Districts, and Ms. Winner does not know exactly how those would interact. One of the committee's ideas was to document as much of Ronald Spores

stories as possible, and also to do a narrated walking tour of Coburg to accompany other Coburg maps and brochures that are already available.

The committee and the community foundation agreed on having the audio recordings and stories available for the public to access and listen to. Ms. McKibben did mention that they would want to do this fairly quickly, before they lose a generation filled with knowledge and stories. They brainstormed some ideas for this process.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- 1. March 13, 2024 Heritage Committee Minutes
- 2. June 12, 2024 Heritage Committee Minutes
- 3. July 10, 2024 Heritage Committee Minutes

MOTION: Ms. Shattuck moved, seconded by Mr. Sheehan to approve the March 13th, June 12th, and July 10th, 2024 minutes as presented.

The motion passed -3:0.

COMMITTEE BUSINESS

4. Historic Preservation Award Plaque Nominations

The committee had nominated the HJ Cox house, Van Duyn house, and the Goodman house for this year's historic preservation award plaques.

MOTION: Ms. Shattuck moved, seconded by Mr. Sheehan to award the HJ Cox house, Van Duyn house, and Goodman house the Historic Preservation Award Plaques.

The motion passed -3:0.

5. Next Meeting

Ms. Winner mentioned that Jim Bell, Chair of the Planning Commission, offered to present at another community night on his knowledge and research of the Coburg Railroad. The committee proposed the idea of having that presentation in November, if Mr. Bell is available.

The next Heritage committee meeting will be October 9, 2024.

ADJOURNMENT

Ms. Doyle adjourned the meeting at 6:31 pm.

ssa Doyle, Heritage Chair