COBURG CITY COUNCIL ACTION/ISSUE ITEM



TOPIC: Planning Commission Reappointments

Meeting Date: October 12, 2021 Staff Contact: Megan Winner, Planner

Contact: 541-682-7862, megan.winner@ci.coburg.or.us

REQUESTED COUNCIL ACTION

Consider reappointment of Paul Thompson, Marissa Doyle and Seth Clark to the Planning Commission.

Recommended Motion: I move to recommend Mayor Smith reappoints Paul Thompson, Marissa Doyle and Seth Clark to Planning Commission for two-year terms expiring October 2023.

POLICIES OR CITY COUNCIL GOAL(S)

- Livability, Health and Vitality
- Strategic Planning

BACKGROUND

In October 2021, the two-year terms for three Planning Commissioners (Paul Thompson, Marissa Doyle and Seth Clark) expire.

Procedures and Bylaws of the Coburg Planning Commission:

Article IV: Section 1. The planning commission shall consist of seven members to be appointed by the city council. Five members shall be City residents. One, but not more than two may live not within the City but either within the area of influence as defined by the Comprehensive Plan, or own real property within the City of be an owner or partner of a business in the city limits. The area of influence is the City plus six miles adjacent thereto.

All three Planning Commissioners recommended for reappointment are residents or business owners in the City of Coburg and therefore, meet Section 1 requirements.

Article IV: Section 2. No more than two members shall be engaged principally in buying, selling, or developing of real estate for a profit as individuals or be members of any partnership, or officers of or employees of any corporation that is engaged principally in buying, selling, or developing real estate for a profit. No more than two members shall be engaged in the same kind of business, trade or profession (ORS 227.030).

Not more than two members are engaged principally in real estate, nor are more than two members engaged in same kind of business, trade or profession and therefore, meet Section 2 requirements.

Article IV: Section 3. Members shall be appointed for two year terms, renewable upon majority vote of the commission present at a meeting.

Article IV: Section 4. The Planning Commission shall review applications for membership to the commission and make recommendations concerning the filling of vacancies on the commission to the City Council. Any vacancy shall be filled by the City Council for the unexpired term of the predecessor in office (ORS 227.030).

If reappointed, the terms will expire in October 2023. The positions would be eligible and come to City Council for reappointment at that time.

RECOMMENDATION AND ALTERNATIVES

- 1. Reappoint Paul Thompson, Marissa Doyle and Seth Clark to the Planning Commission.
- 2. Do not reappoint members to positions. This action would result in the positions being vacant.
- 3. Taking no action would result in the positions being vacant.

BUDGET / FINANCIAL IMPACT

The financial impact of this action is negligible.

PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT

None.

NEXT STEPS

If reappointed, Planning Commissioners Thompson, Doyle and Clark will be notified.

ATTACHMENTS

A. Planning Commission term renewal acceptance emails from Paul Thompson, Marissa Doyle and Seth Clark

REVIEWED THROUGH:

Anne Heath, City Administrator