

COBURG CITY COUNCIL ACTION/ISSUE ITEM

TOPIC: HERITAGE COMMITTEE APPOINTMENT

Meeting Date: December 8, 2020 Staff Contact: Megan Winner, Planning Tech & Economic Development Assistant Contact: 541-682-7862, <u>megan.winner@ci.coburg.or.us</u>

REQUESTED COUNCIL ACTION

Consider appointment of Stephen Sheehan to the Heritage Committee.

Recommended Motion: *I move to recommend Mayor Smith appoint Stephen Sheehan to Heritage Committee, a unfilled two-year term that expires March 2023.*

BACKGROUND

Two Heritage Committee vacancies exist. Stephen Sheehan submitted a application and demonstrated that he meets the requirements of the Heritage Committee. The Heritage Committee has reviewed the application and provided a unanimous (3-0) recommendation to appoint the applicant. The applicant recently purchased a historic building in Coburg and plans to open a restaurant; the three Committees members asked he recuse himself from the review and discussion of that property.

Historic Preservation Ordinance (ORD 226.A):

Section 5.A. The Mayor, subject to City Council approval, shall appoint a Historic Landmark Advisory Commission, hereinafter referred to as the "Landmark Commission", of at least three but no more than five members with a demonstrated competence, knowledge, or interest in historic preservation with preference given to those with professional experience in the fields of preservation, architecture, archaeology, community history, building trades, real estate, or related specialties. At least two members shall consist of one Planning Commissioner, and one resident of the City of Coburg. In cases where there is not sufficient interest or it is difficult to find qualified members it is acceptable to accept commissioners from outside the City of Coburg. Members shall serve without compensation, but are eligible for reimbursement of expenses related to their service. At least one member of the Commission shall reside within the Coburg Historic District.

Section 5.C. Initial appointments to the Landmark Commission shall be for terms of two and three years. The first and third position shall be appointed for three years, the second position for two years. The fourth and fifth positions, if filled shall have terms corresponding

to the second and third positions, respectively. Subsequent terms of appointment shall be for three years, or in the case of a replacement, for the remainder of the unexpired term. Members shall be eligible for reappointment.

RECOMMENDATION AND ALTERNATIVES

- 1. Appoint applicant to Heritage Committee.
- 2. Do not appoint applicant to position. This action would result in continued vacancies.
- 3. Taking no action would result in continued vacancies.

BUDGET / FINANCIAL IMPACT

The financial impact of this action is negligible.

PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT

None.

NEXT STEPS

If appointed, the new Heritage Committee member will be notified of the next scheduled meetings and be provided background materials.

ATTACHMENTS

- A. Stephen Sheehan Heritage Committee application
- B. Recommendations from Heritage Committee members

REVIEWED THROUGH:

Anne Heath, City Administrator Sammy Egbert, City Recorder