

COBURG CITY COUNCIL ACTION/ISSUE ITEM

TOPIC: RESOLUTION 2020-23, A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COBURG, OREGON ACCEPTING THE RESULTS OF THE NOVEMBER 3, 2020 GENERAL ELECTION

Meeting Date: December 8, 2020

Staff Contact: Sammy Egbert, City Recorder

Contact: 541-682-7852, sammy.egbert@ci.coburg.or.us

REQUESTED COUNCIL ACTION

Approval of Resolution 2020-23

Suggested motion:

I move to approve resolution 2020-23 A resolution of the City Council of the City of Coburg, Oregon accepting the results of the November 3, 2020 general election.

POLICIES OR CITY COUNCIL GOAL(S) ADDRESSED

1992 Coburg City Charter Chapter 6 Lane County Election Laws State Election Laws

BACKGROUND

The 2020 General Election was November 3, 2020. The Mayor and three (3) Councilor positions were on the ballot for this election. The City has received certified election results from Lane County Election.

Recruitment was posted and noticed as required. Mayor Smith, Councilor Bell, Councilor Fox and Councilor Blain were notified their terms were expiring December 31, 2020 and provided 2020 election packets.

Deadline to submit completed applications was on August 5th, 2020. We received completed petitions from Ray Smith for Mayor and Nancy Bell and John Fox for City Councilor. I reviewed the signature sheets and submitted them to Lane County Election Official.

Election was held on November 3, 2020 and Certified results were returned November 23, 2020.

Ray Smith was elected to a two-year term as Coburg Mayor. Nancy Bell and John Fox were elected to four year terms as Coburg City Councilors. The third vacancy was filled by write in votes. Kyle Blain received the most votes. Kyle was notified on November 28th that he had been nominated by the most votes for this position. Kyle submitted the required SEL 141 (Write-In acceptance form), and accepted the elected position to four-year term as Coburg City Councilor.

This Resolution is to accept the results and put them on Record with the City.

PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT

General Election process began in set by the State, County and Charter. 2020 General Election packets were created and distributed in June, posted on the City website and at Dari Mart and City website. Election notice was included in the July-August Our Town.

NEXT STEPS

January 12, 2021 State of the City at which we will hold a Swearing in Ceremony

- Ray Smith will take the Oath as Mayor for a two-year term expiring December 31, 2022.
- Nancy Bell, Kyle Blain and John Fox will take the Oath as City Councilor for a four-year term expiring December 31, 2024.

ATTACHMENTS

- A. Resolution 2020-23 Draft
- B. Certified Election Results

REVIEWED BY:

Anne Heath, City Administrator

RESOLUTION 2020-23

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COBURG, OREGON, ACCEPTING THE RESULTS OF THE NOVEMBER 3, 2020, GENERAL ELECTION.

WHEREAS, The General Election was held on November 3, 2020, during which time legal voters of the City of Coburg considered the election of City offices of Mayor and three Councilor positions;

WHEREAS, the election results from the November 3, 2020, General Election have been certified by the office of the Lane County Clerk.

WHEREAS, City of Coburg election official received the certified results dated November 20, 2020, from the Lane County Clerk as required by state law. The results are as follows;

Coburg Mayor	(Vote for 1)
Ray Smith	662

Coburg Councilor (Vote for 3) Nancy Bell 548

John Fox 542

Write-ins **Kyle Blain** received the highest votes

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Coburg

- 1. The Certified election is hereby made a part of the record of proceeding of the City Council.
- 2. This Council Resolution is effective immediately upon adoption.
- 3. The oath office will be administered to the newly elected Mayor and City Council members at the January 12, 2021 City Council Meeting.
- 4. The City Recorder is to issue certificates of election to persons elected.

Adopted by the City Council of the City of Coburg, Oregon, by a vote of for and		
against, this day of December, 2020.		
	Ray Smith, Mayor	
ATTEST:		
Sammy L. Egbert, City Recorder		