

# STAFF REPORT 3/8/2023

To: Honorable Mayor and City Council Members

**FROM:** Gabriel Perez, Development Services Director

SUBJECT: Consideration to Fill Five Planning Commission Vacancies

## **STAFF RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends that the Mayor and City Council solicit applications to fill five vacancies on the Planning Commission.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

The Coachella Planning Commission is made up of five members and one alternative member, who are appointed to 4-year terms that are staggered. Accordingly, every two years, three commissioners must be newly appointed. The Coachella Municipal Code 2.26.020 (B), states that each council member may nominate an individual to serve on each city commission and committee subject to appointment by the mayor, with approval by the city council, at open session of a regular or special city council meeting. If a council member fails to nominate an individual, the mayor may appoint someone with approval by the city council. The Coachella Municipal Code 2.26.020 (D), states that in an event of an interim vacancy, the council member who nominated the vacating member may nominate another individual, subject to appointment by the mayor with approval by the city council, for the unexpired term of the member replaced. There is no individual council member nomination for the Alternate Planning Commissioner.

The terms for Planning Commissioner Miguel Navarrete (Nominated by Mayor Pro Tem Gonzalez), Miguel Leal and Ventura Gutierrez expired November 2022 and they are currently serving as Commissioners until the City Council nominates and approves candidates to serve for the next Planning Commissioner 4-year term. Two other vacancies have occurred due to the recent election of Councilmembers Virgen and Figueroa to the City Council who previously serves as Planning Commissioners. The terms of those vacancies will need to be filled until November 2024.

**Table 1: Planning Commission Term Status** 

<b>Planning Commissioners</b>	Term Status	Term action required
Ruben Gonzalez	June 26, 2019-November 2024	None required
Vacancy (Currently served by	<b>Expired</b> (June 26, 2019-	2022- November 2026
Miguel Navarrete)	November 2022)	
Vacancy (Vacated by Frank	<b>Expired</b> (February 10, 2021-	Remainder term to
Figueroa)	November 2024)	November 2024
Vacancy (Vacated by	<b>Expired</b> (June 26, 2019-	Remainder term to
Stephanie Virgen)	November 2024)	November 2024
Vacancy (Currently served by	Expired	2022- November 2026
Miguel Leal)		
Vacancy (Currently served by	Expired (February 23, 2022-	2022- November 2026
Ventura Gutierrez (Alternate)	November 2022)	

# **DISCUSSION/ANALYSIS:**

The City Clerk's Office received a total of six (6) applications by the application deadline of Friday, February 3, 2023 and one (1) application submitted after the deadline as follows:

- Yurema Arvizu (Submitted after February 3, 2023 deadline)
- Karina Andalon
- Rosalio Avila
- Oscar Fonseca
- Andrew Gallegos
- Ventura Gutierrez
- Jason Hernandez
- Karen Hernandez (Submitted after February 3, 2023 deadline)
- Miguel Leal
- Isela Murillo
- Diana Ramirez (Submitted after February 3, 2023 deadline)

The City Council will need to fill the following Planning Commissioner vacancies:

- Two (2) Planning Commission vacancies until November 2022
- Two (2) Regular Planning Commission vacancies until November 2026
- One (1) Alternate Planning Commission vacancy until November 2026

#### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There are no direct fiscal impacts by appointment of Planning Commissioners on the adopted budget for Fiscal Year 2022/2023.

## **ALTERNATIVE(S):**

- 1) Fill the existing Planning Commission vacancies from the submitted Planning Commissioner applications.
- 2) Request that City extend the deadline for Planning Commissioner applications and fill existing Commission vacancies at a future date.
- 3) Continue this item and provide staff direction.

# **RECOMMENDED ALTERNATIVE(S):**

Staff recommends Alternative 1.

#### Attachments:

- 1. Planning Commission Applications
  - Yurema Arvizu
  - Karina Andalon
  - Rosalio Avila
  - Oscar Fonseca
  - Andrew Gallegos
  - Ventura Gutierrez
  - Jason Hernandez
  - Karen Hernandez
  - Miguel Leal
  - Isela Murillo
  - Diana Ramirez