

STAFF REPORT 12/8/2021

To: Honorable Mayor and City Council Members

FROM: Gabriel Perez, Development Services Director

SUBJECT: Consideration to Appoint One Coachella Resident to fill One Planning

Commission Vacancy

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the Mayor and City Council appoint one Planning Commissioner to fill a vacancy in the Planning Commission, attached to this staff report, or from any other qualifying Coachella resident.

BACKGROUND:

The Coachella Planning Commission is made up of five members and one alternative member, who are appointed to 4-year terms that are staggered. Accordingly, every two years, three commissioners must be newly appointed. The Coachella Municipal Code 2.26.020 (D), states that in an event of an interim vacancy, the council member who nominated the vacating member may nominate another individual, subject to appointment by the mayor with approval by the city council, for the unexpired term of the member replaced.

DISCUSSION/ANALYSIS:

The previous Planning Commissioner, Sahara Huazano, was appointed by the City Council from June 26, 2019 through November 2022 but vacated the seat on September 21, 2021. As stated in the Coachella Municipal Code above, the councilmember who nominated the vacating member may nominate another individual. Councilmember Meagan Beaman Jacinto nominated previous Commissioner Sahara Huazano, and nominates Lesly Figueroa to fill the Planning Commission vacancy. The individual appointed for the vacancy will serve the remaining term until November 1, 2022.

Accordingly, the City Council has the following options to approve a vacancy in the Planning Commission.

- 1) Appoint one (1) member to serve the remaining term until November 2022.
- 2) Continue this item and provide staff direction.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There are no direct fiscal impacts by appointment of Planning Commissioners on the adopted budget for Fiscal Year 2021/2022.

RECOMMENDED ALTERNATIVE(S):

There are no direct fiscal impacts by appointment of Planning Commissioners on the adopted budget for Fiscal Year 2021/2022.

Attachments: Applications Received

- Lesly Figueroa
- Yosmin Nunez