TOWN OF CLAYTON Annual Town Meeting Minutes

April 18, 2023 7:00 p.m. 8348 County Road T Larsen, WI 54947

1) Call to Order

Called to order at 7:01 p.m. by Town Chair Geise.

- a) Pledge of Allegiance
 - Roll: <u>Town Board Members Present at the Electors Meeting</u> Chairperson Russ Geise Supervisor #1 Kay Lettau Supervisor #3 Patti Christianson
 - Roll: <u>Town Staff Present at the Electors Meeting</u> Administrator Kelly Wisnefske Clerk Kelsey Faust-Kubale Public Works Foreman Rick Christianson
 - Roll: <u>Other Town Officials Present at the Electors Meeting</u> Plan Commission Chairperson Dick Knapinski Town Attorney Ben LaFrombois
 - Roll: Electors Present

Becky Haskell, 9080 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Brett Haskell, 9080 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Pat Thompson, 3410 Fairview Road, Neenah Kay Lettau, 3795 County Rd II, Larsen Kelly Wisnefske, 7812 County T, Larsen Russ Geise, 8014 County Rd T, Larsen Rick Christianson, 3540 Oakridge Rd, Neenah Patti Christianson, 3540 Oakridge Rd, Neenah Richard Fischer, 8685 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Dick Knapinksi, 8605 Clayton Ave, Neenah

2) Town Elector Approval of the Minutes of the CY 2022 Annual Meeting of the Town Electors

MOTION:

Motion made: Rick Christianson, 3540 Oakridge Rd, Neenah Second: Becky Haskell, 9080 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Motion to approve the Annual Meeting Minutes for CY 2022 with spelling correction in item 3.a(iv). Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

3) Introduction of Elected and Appointed Town Officials by the Town Chair

- a) Reports by Appointed Town Commission and Committee Chairs:
 - i) Town of Clayton Sanitary District #1 Commission Chair, Russell D. Geise
 - Chair Geise spoke about the positive working relationship the Town has with Fox Crossing to get sewer/water utilities installed.
 - Chair Geise also noted the extension of utilities from County Rd II to Clayton Ave.

April 18, 2023 – Annual Meeting

- ii) Storm Water Management Utility Chair, Russell D. Geise
 - Chair Geise noted construction of the Regional Stormwater Pond located off W American Dr & Eagle Heights Dr is scheduled to be completed by the end of 2023.
 - Chair Geise noted the ditching project in the Deer Trail Estates Subdivision will be bid out and completed in 2023.
- iii) Plan Commission Chairperson Dick Knapinski
 - Recognized the Commissioners and Staff who review projects and proposals for the Town throughout the year: Commissioners: Dave Dorow, Rob Ketter, Wayne Nemecek, Becky Haskell, and Town Board Representative Patti Christianson.
 - Thank you to Commissioners for their dedication and the work put into preparation for the monthly meetings
 - Accomplishments include:
 - Updating the Town Comprehensive Plan, which was last done in 2016
 - Considering proper use of development in the sewer/water utility areas to get the maximum use of those utilities possible
 - Keeping vision of focused growth on the east side of Town while maintaining the more rural, touch of country on the western side of Town
- iv) Parks & Trails Committee presented by Town Chair Geise
 - Recognized the Committee Members & Chair Nancy Harrity-Irvine, Nadine Plante, Fred Ebbesen, Dave Dorow, Dustin Kraft, and Town Board Representative Linda Grundman
 - Accomplishments included:
 - Completion of Phase I of the Friendship Trail reconstruction, with further screenings scheduled to be done in 2023.
 - Implementing an Adopt-A-Tree Program for the trees along the reconstructed portion of Friendship Trail.
 - Town Chair Geise noted that this committee will be on a 1-year hiatus so the Supervisors & Administration can better define their goals and directives.

4) Recognition of Town Officials and Employees by Town Chair, Russell D. Geise:

- a. Attorney, Ben LaFrombois, MG&M Law Firm
- b. Town Engineers, McMahon Associates & Cedar Corp
- c. Town Planner, Ken Jaworski, Cedar Corp
- d. Clerk, Kelsey Faust-Kubale
- e. Treasurer, Jackie Zolp
- f. Clayton Fire Rescue Department, Fire Chief Scott Rieckmann
- g. Clayton Fire Rescue Department, Assistant Chief Jim Austad and Department Volunteers
- h. Emergency Management Director, Kaylin Rieckmann
- i. Building Inspector, Tom Spierowski
- j. Public Works Foreman, Rick Christianson
- k. Public Works Employee, David Borchert
- 1. Public Works Employee, James Crowley
- m. Public Works Employee, Andy Jensen
- n. Public Works On-Call Employee, John Wisnefske
- o. Custodian, Renee Luebke
- p. Yard Waste Site Operator, Eli Luebke
- q. Town Assessor, Luke Mack of Associated Appraisal Consultants, Inc.
- r. Town Administrator, Kelly Wisnefske

5) Review of the Town's CY 2022 activities by the Town Chair

April 18, 2023 – Annual Meeting

- Plan Commission conducted Resident Survey as part of the Comprehensive Plan Update and received over 500 responses.
- Public Safety
 - Offered CPR courses to Staff and Residents & added new members
- Public Works/Utilities
 - New staff members & still recruiting
 - Both the Booster Pump Station and new Yard Waste Site are complete
- Town Roads & Subdivisions
 - o Renaming of sections of County Rd T and Pioneer Rd will be effective May 15, 2023
 - Beginning construction of Eagle Heights Dr & Wing Ln
- Appointed new Town Staff
- First apartment complex completed & new Residents have moved in
- Two new subdivisions have been proposed for development
- Four elections held in 2022

6) Town Elector approval of the Town Board wages.

- a. Town Chair (Current):
 - i. Wage per Year: \$10,000.00
 - ii. Full day meeting Per Diem: \$ 75.00
 - iii. Half day meeting Per Diem: \$ 50.00
 - iv. Mileage at the current IRS rate per mile
- Chair Geise noted he personally has not accepted per diem or mileage during his tenure as Town Chair, but recognizes the need to have it included as past Chairs have and future Chairs may.

MOTION:

Motion made: Becky Haskell, 9080 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Second: Richard Fisher, 8685 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Motion to approve the Town Chair's wages as presented. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

b. Town Supervisors (Current):

- i. Wage per year: \$6,000.00
- ii. Full day meeting Per Diem: \$ 75.00
- iii. Half day meeting Per Diem: \$ 50.00
- iv. Mileage at the current IRS rate per mile

MOTION:

Motion made: Dick Knapinski, 8605 Clayton Ave, Neenah Second: Richard Fisher, 8685 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Motion to approve the Town Supervisors' wages as presented. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

 Setting the meeting date for the Town's next Annual Meeting of the Town Electors for the 3rd Tuesday in April of CY 2024 or within ten (10) days following that date.

MOTION:

Motion made: Rick Christianson, 3540 Oakridge Rd, Neenah

April 18, 2023 – Annual Meeting

Second: Brett Haskell, 9080 Oakwood Ave, Neenah

Motion to set the meeting date for the Town's next Annual Meeting of the Town Electors for the 3rd Tuesday in April of CY 2024 (April 16, 2024) or within ten (10) days following that date. **Motion carried** by unanimous voice vote.

8) Town Elector Proposed Items.

Richard Fischer, 8685 Oakwood Ave, Neenah asked of the Supervisors if there were any plans to try for incorporation again. Chair Geise noted that we have 7 more years on our border agreement with Fox Crossing, but another attempt would still be several years out, if the Town still wished to try at that time.

9) Adjourn Sine Die.

MOTION:

Motion made: Becky Haskell, 9080 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Second: Richard Fischer, 8685 Oakwood Ave, Neenah Motion to adjourn at 7:30 pm. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted, Kelsey Faust-Kubale, Clerk