Capitola City Council Attachment to Agenda Report

Meeting: January 30, 2025

From: City Manager Department

Subject: Appointments to City Advisory Bodies – Attachment 1

Arts & Cultural Commission

The Arts and Cultural Commission is composed of 5 "at large" members, 1 artist, and 1 art professional. These members each serve a two-year term. The Commission also has one representative from the Planning Commission and one representative from the City Council. There is currently one vacant "At Large" seat.

Commissioner Name	Appointed Date	Term Expiration	
Council Member Clarke	12/12/2024	12/31/2026	
TBD (Planning Commission Representative)		12/31/2026	
Jill Payonzeck Lengre (At Large)	1/16/2025	12/31/2026	
Esther Sylvan (At Large)	1/16/2025	12/31/2026	
Mary Beth Cahalen (At Large)	1/16/2025	12/31/2026	
Laurie Hill (At Large)	1/16/2025	12/31/2026	
Roy Holmberg (Artist)	1/16/2025	12/31/2026	
Roy Johnson (Art Professional)	1/16/2025	12/31/2026	
Jennifer Pepiot (nee Major) (At Large)	7/27/2023	12/31/2024	Seeking Reappointment
James Wallace (At Large)	1/27/2022	12/31/2024	Seeking Reappointment
John Mulry (Artist and At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Karin Anderson (At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Kristina McCann (At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Tara Hunt (At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Helynne Nourishad (Artist, Arts Pro., At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Thomas Pedersen (Artist, Arts Pro., At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant



Commission on the Environment

The Commission on the Environment is composed of 4 members, each appointed by a City Council Member, and one City Council representative. These members each serve a two-year term. The Commission also has one representative from the City Council.

Commissioner Name	Appointed Date	Term Expiration	
Council Member Orbach	12/12/2024	12/31/2026	
Jason Shepardson (Brown)	3/24/2022	12/31/2024	
Peter Wilk (Pedersen)	1/12/2023	12/31/2024	
Anthony Lacenere (Clarke)	1/12/2023	12/31/2024	
Michelle Beritzhoff-Law (Brooks)	1/12/2023	12/31/2024	Seeking Reappointment
Dennis Norton	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Michael Maroney	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Neal Savage	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
John Mulry	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Manuel Castro	N/A	N/A	New Applicant

Finance Advisory Committee

The Finance Advisory Committee is composed of 3 members appointed by the City Council and two business representatives who are nominated by the Capitola Chamber of Commerce and appointed by the City Council. These members each serve a two-year term. The Commission also has two representatives from the City Council. The next meeting of the Commission is February 18th, 2025.

Commissioner Name	Appointed Date	Term Expiration	
Mayor Brooks	12/12/2024	12/31/2026	
Council Member Pedersen	12/12/2024	12/31/2026	
Laura Alioto (Clarke)	1/12/2023	12/31/2024	
Anthony Rovai (Keiser)	1/12/2023	12/31/2024	Seeking Reappointment
Michelle Coffman (Brooks)	1/12/2023	12/31/2024	Seeking Reappointment
Anthony Guajardo (Business Rep.)	6/27/2024	12/31/2024	Seeking Reappointment
Matt Arthur (Business Rep.)	6/27/2024	12/31/2024	Seeking Reappointment
Leslie Nielsen (Business Rep.)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Keith Cahalen (At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
John Mulry (Business Rep. and At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Emeline Nguyen (At Large)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant
Daniel Castagnola (Business Rep.)	N/A	N/A	New Applicant

Historical Museum Board

The Historical Museum Board is composed of 7 members. These members each serve a threeyear term. The next meeting of the Commission is February 6th, 2025.

Commissioner Name	Appointed Date	Term Expiration	
Emmy Mitchell-Lynn (President)	6/9/2022	6/30/2025	
Roger Wyant (Vice President)	7/25/2024	6/30/2027	
Gordon van Zuiden	6/9/2022	6/30/2025	
Enrique Dolmo	1/12/2023	6/30/2025	
Antonia Alldredge	7/25/2024	6/30/2027	
Brian Legakis	7/25/2024	6/30/2027	
Vacant	8/25/2022	6/30/2025	
Helynne Nourishad	N/A	N/A	New Applicant

