

# **City Council Regular Meeting**

**DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary's Office

FROM: Amanda Campos, City Secretary

MEETING: February 20, 2023

### **SUBJECT:**

Consider approval of a minute order appointing new voting members to the Mayor's Youth Council to fill unexpired terms of 2022-2024. (Staff Contact: Amanda Campos, City Secretary).

### **SUMMARY:**

Council is being asked to approve a minute order appointing four (4) new members to fill the unexpired terms of 2022-2024. The Mayor's Youth council consists of 25 voting youth members, 3 adult voting members, and various city staff and community members. Youth between the ages of 13-19 who reside in the City of Burleson apply for these positions and are selected through a lottery process.

The Mayor's Youth Council is charged with identifying key community issues that face Burleson youth and advising the City Council on youth-related matters. The board focuses on being actively and authentically engaged with City Council on issues in Burleson that pertain to youth. The current membership has seven (7) youth member vacancies: 3 (2021-2023) terms and 4 (2022-2024) terms. The three (3) 2021-2023 terms will be presented with all 2021-2023 expired appointments. The 2023-2025 appointments will be presented to council for consideration in May.

### **APPOINTMENTS FOR APPROVAL:**

- Dawson Coffee (2022-2024)
- Olivia Konick (2022-2024)
- Emma-leigh Mann (2022-2024)
- Ava Monroe (2022-2024)

## **CURRENT MEMBERS:**

- Mayce Ball (2021-2023)
- Gavin Bloom (2021-2023)
- Mason Cashion (2021-2023)
- Dylan Forbus (2021-2023)
- Emma Hammett (2021-2023)
- Alexa Samorano (2021-2023)
- Ely Terrell (2021-2023)

- Sorcha Ahrens (2022-2024)
- Preston Hamilton (2022-2024)
- Lillian Boatwright (2022-2024)
- Christian Steele (2022-2024)
- Emma Kornegay (2022-2024)
- Kenneth Sanders (2022-2024)
- Madison Voa (2022-2024)

<ul> <li>Claire Woodruff (2021-2023)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Wyatt Klotthor (2022-2024)</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>Gage Carlson (2021-2023)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Stormy Stanford (2022-2024)</li> </ul>

## EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS:

- MYC Staff Liaison Monica Solko, Deputy City Secretary
- Mayor Chris Fletcher
- MYC Council Liaison Victoria Johnson, Council Place 1
- MYC Law Enforcement Liaison Joseph Byrom, Community Resource Officer

## **OPTIONS:**

1) Council may approve the minutes as presented or approve with amendments.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

Approve.

## PRIOR ACTION/INPUT (Council, Boards, Citizens):

N/A.

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

N/A.

## **STAFF CONTACT:**

Name Amanda Campos, TRMC

Title: City Secretary

Email: <u>acampos@burlesontx.com</u>

Phone: 817-426-9665