## MAYOR'S YOUTH COUNCIL May 13, 2024 MINUTES

## **PRESENT**

MYC Member Magnus Ahrens

MYC Chair Mayce Ball

MYC Member Kayleigh Cavazos MYC Member Preston Hamilton

MYC Member Elizabeth Josev

MYC Member Megan Kelly

MYC Member McKenzie Kimbrell

MYC Member Emma Kornegay

MYC Member Ava Monroe

MYC Member Zoe Morse

MYC Member Travis Rousseau

MYC Member Ronald Simon

MYC Member Ava Strother

MYC Member Ely Terrell

MYC Member Kadence Topinka

## **STAFF PRESENT**

Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary Chris Fletcher, Mayor Victoria Johnson, Council Place 1

### 1. Call to Order - Time: 7:00 PM

#### 2. Citizen Appearances

Citizens and youth are welcome to speak to Mayor's Youth Council at this time.

No Speakers

#### 3. Consent Agenda

All items listed below are considered to be routine by the Mayor's Youth Council and will be enacted with one motion. There will be no separate discussion of the items unless a Council Member or citizen so requests, in which event the item will be removed from the consent agenda and considered in its normal sequence.

- A. Consider approval of the minutes from the Monday, April 22, 2024 Mayor's Youth Council meeting. (Staff Contact: Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary)
- B. Consider approval of the Mayor's Youth Council attendance report from June 2023 to April 2024. (Staff Contact: Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary)
- C. Consider approval of the Mayor's Youth Council finance report from June 2023 to April 2024. (Staff Contact: Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary)

#### **ABSENT**

MYC Member Gavin Bloom
MYC Member Kacey Burbridge
MYC Member Daniel Clerk
MYC Member Dawson Coffee
MYC Member Jace Giddings
MYC Member Preston Graham
MYC Member Wyatt Klotthor
MYC Member Joshua Leal
MYC Member Edee Neubauer
MYC Member Alexa Samorano

Motion made by MYC Member Ava Strother, Seconded by MYC Member Zoe Morse to approve the consent agenda.

Voting Yea: MYC Member Magnus Ahrens, MYC Member Mayce Ball, MYC Member Kayleigh Cavazos, MYC Member Preston Hamilton, MYC Member Elizabeth Josey, MYC Member Megan Kelly, MYC Member McKenzie Kimbrell, MYC Member Emma Kornegay, MYC Member Ava Monroe, MYC Member Zoe Morse, MYC Member Travis Rousseau, MYC Member Ronald Simon, MYC Member Ava Strother, MYC Member Ely Terrell, MYC Member Kadence Topinka.

### 4. <u>Items for Consideration</u>

A. Discuss the election process of MYC Officers and elect the 2024-2025 officers. (Staff Contact: Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary)

Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary gave a presentation on topic on the election process. MYC members elected Officers for 2024 – 2025.

Motion made by MYC Member Kaleigh Cavazos, Seconded by MYC Member Travis Rousseau to elect:

- Kacey Burbridge Chair
- Preston Graham Vice Chair
- Ava Strother Secretary
- Zoe Morse Historian
- Elizabeth Josey Communications Officer

Voting Yea: MYC Member Magnus Ahrens, MYC Member Mayce Ball, MYC Member Kayleigh Cavazos, MYC Member Preston Hamilton, MYC Member Elizabeth Josey, MYC Member Megan Kelly, MYC Member McKenzie Kimbrell, MYC Member Emma Kornegay, MYC Member Ava Monroe, MYC Member Zoe Morse, MYC Member Travis Rousseau, MYC Member Ronald Simon, MYC Member Ava Strother, MYC Member Ely Terrell, MYC Member Kadence Topinka.

B. Consider approval of the Mayor's Youth Council meeting calendar for 2024-2025. (Staff Contact: Lisandra, Leal Assistant City Secretary)

Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary presented the 2024 – 2025 MYC calendar.

Motion made by MYC Member Preston Graham, Seconded by MYC Member Kaleigh Cavazos to approve the Mayor's Youth Council calendar for 2024 - 2025.

Voting Yea: MYC Member Magnus Ahrens, MYC Member Mayce Ball, MYC Member Kayleigh Cavazos, MYC Member Preston Hamilton, MYC Member Elizabeth Josey, MYC Member Megan Kelly, MYC Member McKenzie Kimbrell, MYC Member Emma Kornegay, MYC Member Ava Monroe, MYC Member Zoe Morse, MYC Member Travis Rousseau, MYC Member Ronald Simon, MYC Member Ava Strother, MYC Member Ely Terrell, MYC Member Kadence Topinka.

#### 5. MYC Reports and Discussion Items

A. Introduce Assistant to the City Manager Justin Scharnhorst. (Staff Contact: Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary)

Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary introduced Assistant to the City Manager Just Scharnhorst.

Justin Scharnhorst shared with the MYC members that he will be the staff representative for the 2024 – 2025 year.

# B. Recognition of Seniors and presentation of certificates. (Presenter: Mayor Chris Fletcher)

Mayor Fletcher recognized the graduating seniors and presented them with a certificate.

## 6. Adjourn

Motion made by MYC Member Travis Rousseau, seconded by MYC Member Emma Kornegay.

MYC Chair Ball adjourned the meeting.

Time: 7:50 PM.

Ely Terrell Mayor's Youth Council Historian