

# Central Appraisal District of Johnson County Vacancy Nomination

PRESENTED TO THE CITY COUNCIL - FEBRUARY 17

JANALEA HEMBREE, ASSISTANT TO THE CITY MANAGER

#### GENERAL INFORMATION

#### **Board**

- 5 Members appointed by the districts within its jurisdiction
- 3 Members elected by majority vote at the general November election
- 1 Tax Assessor-Collector
- New Terms started January 1, 2025

#### Roles & Responsibilities

- Hire the Chief Appraiser
- Govern the district
- Adopt the annual budget
- Does not appraise properties
- Adopts the reappraisal plan

#### **Update**

- On January 17, 2025, we were notified of a vacancy due to the passing of an appointed member
- Submit name(s) of nominee(s) by resolution on or before March 3, 2025
- The Board will vote to declare the candidate elected at their March meeting
- The elected candidate will serve a term to expire on 12/31/2025

#### **BOARD MEMBER ELIGIBILITY**

#### Residency

 Must reside in the appraisal district for at least two years

#### Ineligible

- Delinquent on property taxes for more than 60 days
- Served on the Board for all or part of five terms.
- Has a substantial interest in a business entity that is party to a contract with the appraisal district

# **Second Degree of Consanguinity and Affinity**

- Ineligible if the individual is related within the second degree of blood or marriage to the following:
  - An appraiser who appraises property for use in a proceeding under the Tax Code
  - A person who represents property owners for compensation in proceedings under the Tax Code in the appraisal district

#### JOHNSON COUNTY

## PREVIOUS BOARD & VOTE INFORMATION

- Burleson was entitled to 403 votes
- Changing to staggered terms
  - Two members with 1-year term and three members with 3-year terms.
- Once staggered terms are established:
  - District voted members (5) will serve staggered four-year terms beginning each January 1 of every other evennumbered year.
  - General election voted members (3) will serve staggered four-year terms beginning each January 1 of every odd-numbered year.

## PREVIOUS BALLOT CANDIDATES

- James Cockrell\*
- Cesar Diaz
- Benjamin Bruce Gibson
- Duaine Goulding\* (220 votes)
- Amy Lingo\*
- Lauren Pate
- Brannon Potts\*
- John Wood\* (183 votes)

\*Nominated by City of Burleson Number of votes allocated in parenthesis

#### **ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS**

- James Cockrell\*
- Duaine Goulding
- Amy Lingo
- Brannon Potts
- John Wood

\*Passed away



#### Nominate candidate(s) on the ballot for Central Appraisal District of Johnson County Board of Directors



Take no action

- James Cockrell
- Duaine Goulding\*
- Amy Lingo\*
- Brannon Potts\*
- John Wood\*
- Cesar Diaz
- Benjamin Bruce Gibson
- Lauren Pate

\*Current Board Members