BURLESON PARKS ADVISORY BOARD September 8, 2022 Draft MINUTES

Call to Order - 6:00 PM

Roll Call

Board Members Present Thomas Fleeger Cynthia Plonien Jessie Farris Matthew Quinn Board Members Absent Emily Quinn Michael Massey Sherry Scott

<u>Staff in Attendance</u>: Jen Basham (Director of Parks and Recreation) David Lopez (Deputy Director, Parks) Kerry Montgomery (Senior Administrative Secretary)

<u>Guests</u>

# 1. Approve the July 14, 2022 meeting minutes.

Thomas Fleeger made a motion to accept the minutes as presented. Matthew Quinn seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0, with Emily Quinn, Michael Massey, and Sherry Scott being absent.

#### 2. Citizen Appearances

# 3. Receive a report, hold a discussion and give staff recommendations regarding a program plan for No Mowing Areas managed by Parks and Recreation. *(Staff presenter: David Lopez, Deputy Director of Parks)*

Staff's presentation reviewed the existing natural areas and proposed sites for wildflower areas. In effort to improve sustainable land management for conservation purposes and helping to control maintenance costs, No Mowing Areas have been established. These areas include natural (riparian buffers, forests, etc.), wildflower, and prairie areas. Parks and Recreation would like expand this green initiative through public education, outreach, and adding new No Mowing Area acres to the park inventory.

Jessie Farris made a motion to accept the proposal as presented. Thomas Fleeger seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0, with Emily Quinn, Michael Massey, and Sherry Scott being absent.

4. Receive a report regarding monthly programs, revenue, and project updates. (Staff presenter: Jen Basham, Parks and Recreation Director)

The board was briefed in regards to special events, programming, revenue and capital improvement projects for The BRiCk, Golf, Russell Farms, and Parks. A discussion followed

### 5. Board Requests for Future Agenda Items or Reports

# Adjourn

There being no further business, Chairperson Cynthia Plonien adjourned the meeting. Time – 6:38 PM

Kerry Montgomery, Senior Administrative Secretary