

#### **DEPARTMENT MEMO**

**DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary's Office

FROM: Amanda Campos

MEETING: June 5, 2023

## **SUBJECT:**

Consider approval of a minute order appointing voting membership of the Mayor's Youth Council to service terms commencing June 6, 2023. (Staff Contact: Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary)

### **SUMMARY:**

Council is being asked to approve a minute order appointing four (4) new members to fill unexpired terms for 2022-2024, appoint eight (8) new members to serve terms 2023-2025, five (5) reappointments to serve terms 2023-2025, and appoint one (1) new member as an alternate. The Mayor's Youth council consists of 25 voting youth members, 3 adult voting members, and various city staff and community members. Youth between the ages of 13-19 who reside in the City of Burleson apply for these positions and are selected through a lottery process.

The Mayor's Youth Council is charged with identifying key community issues that face Burleson youth and advising the City Council on youth-related matters. The board focuses on being actively and authentically engaged with City Council on issues in Burleson that pertain to youth. All appointments will commence on June 6, 2023.

## Mayor's Youth Council 2023-2024 Voting Members

### **NEW APPOINTMENTS:**

- Preston Graham (2022-2024) unexpired term
- Syriana Smith (2022-2024) unexpired term
- Travis Rousseau (2022-2024) unexpired term
- Megan Kelly (2022-2024) unexpired term
- Magnus Ahrens (2023-2025)
- Kacey Burbridge (2023-2025)

- Kayleigh Cavazos (2023-2025)
- Jace Giddings (2023-2025)
- Elizabeth Josey (2023-2025)
- McKenzie Kimbrell (2023-2025)
- Ava Strother (2023-2025)
- Cooper Yarbough (2023-2025)

#### **REAPPOINTMENTS:**

- Mayce Ball (2023-2025)
- Gavin Bloom (2023-2025)
- Dylan Forbus (2023-2025)

- Alexa Samorano (2023-2025)
- Ely Terrell (2023-2025)

### **ALTERNATE MEMBER:**

Zoe Morse

#### **CURRENT MEMBERS:**

- Sorcha Ahrens (2022-2024)
- Dawson Coffee (2022-2024)
- Preston Hamilton (2022-2024)
- Wyatt Klotthor (2022-2024)

- Emma Kornegay (2022-2024)
- Ava Monroe (2022-2024)
- Kenneth Sanders (2022-2024)
- Stormy Stanford (2022-2024)

# **EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS:**

- MYC Staff Liaison Lisandra Leal, Assistant City Secretary
- Mayor Chris Fletcher
- MYC Council Liaison Victoria Johnson, Council Place 1
- MYC Law Enforcement Liaison Joseph Byrom, Community Resource Officer

## **OPTIONS:**

- 1) Approve as presented
- 2) Approve with changes
- 3) Deny

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends approval as presented.

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

None.

## **STAFF CONTACT:**

Amanda Campos City Secretary acampos@burlesontx.com 817-426-9665