THE TOWN COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF BARTONVILLE MET IN REGULAR SESSION ON THE 3RD DAY OF SEPTEMBER 2024 AT THE TOWN OF BARTONVILLE TOWN HALL, LOCATED AT 1941 E JETER ROAD, BARTONVILLE, TEXAS WITH THE FOLLOWING COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT, CONSTITUTING A QUORUM:

Jaclyn Carrington, Mayor Matt Chapman, Mayor Pro Tem/Place 2 Jim Roberts, Council Member Place 1 Clay Sams, Council Member Place 3 Keith Crandall, Council Member Place 4

Town Council Members Absent:

Margie Arens, Council Member Place 5

Town Staff Present:

Thad Chambers, Town Administrator Shannon Montgomery, Town Secretary Kirk Riggs, Chief of Police

A. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

Mayor Carrington called the Special Session to order at 6:30 pm.

B. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Carrington led the Pledge of Allegiance.

C. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

If you wish to address the Council, please fill out a "Public Meeting Appearance Card" and present it to the Town Secretary, preferably before the meeting begins. Pursuant to Section 551.007 of the Texas Government Code, citizens wishing to address the Council for items listed as public hearings will be recognized when the public hearing is opened. For citizens wishing to speak on a non-public hearing item, they may either address the Council during the Citizen Comments portion of the meeting or when the item is considered by the Town Council.

There were no Public Presentations made.

D. CONSENT AGENDA

This agenda consists of non-controversial, or "housekeeping" items required by law. Items may be approved with a single motion. Items may be removed from the Consent Agenda by any Councilmember by making such request prior to a motion and vote on the Consent Agenda.

1. Consider approval of the August 20, 2024, Budget Workshop and Regular Meeting Minutes.

Motion made by Council Member Chapman, seconded by Council Member Sams to **APPROVE** the August 20, 2024, Budget Workshop Regular Meeting Minutes as presented.

VOTE ON THE MOTION

AYES: Roberts, Chapman, Sams, and Crandall

NAYS: None VOTE: 4-0

E. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND REGULAR ITEMS

1. Conduct a Public Hearing to receive comment and to consider the proposed annual budget for the Town of Bartonville for Fiscal Year 2024-2025.

Town Administrator Chambers summarized the proposed Fiscal Year 2024-2025 budget and addressed questions from the Council.

Mayor Carrington opened the Public Hearing at 6:47 pm, and after recognizing that no one wished to speak, closed the Public Hearing at 6:47 pm.

Motion made by Council Member Crandall, seconded by Council Member Chapman, to direct Staff to prepare an ordinance adopting said budget for consideration at the September 17, 2024, regular meeting.

VOTE ON THE MOTION

AYES: Roberts, Chapman, Sams, and Crandall

NAYS: None VOTE: 4-0

2. Consider approval of a Resolution designating the Denton Record Chronicle as the official newspaper of the Town of Bartonville for Fiscal Year 2024-2025.

Motion made by Council Member Roberts, seconded by Council Member Crandall, to **APPROVE** a Resolution designating the Denton Record Chronicle as the official newspaper of the Town of Bartonville for Fiscal Year 2024-2025.

VOTE ON THE MOTION

AYES: Roberts, Chapman, Sams, and Crandall

NAYS: None VOTE: 4-0

3. Discuss and consider approval of Resolutions appointing members to the Board of Adjustment, Planning & Zoning Commission, Bartonville Community Development Corporation, Crime Control and Prevention District, and the Special Events Committee.

Motion made by Council Member Chapman, seconded by Council Member Roberts, to appoint the following individuals to the Board of Adjustment for a two-year term, expiring September 30, 2026:

Regular Members:

1. Donna Baumgarner

2. Kathy Daum

Alternate: #1. Rebecca Jenkins

VOTE ON THE MOTION

AYES: Roberts, Chapman, Sams, and Crandall

NAYS: None VOTE: 4-0

Motion made by Council Member Chapman, seconded by Council Member Crandall, to appoint the following individuals to the Planning & Zoning Commission for a two-year term, expiring September 30, 2026:

Regular Members:

- Ralph Arment
- 2. Brenda Hoyt-Stenovitch
- 3. Gloria McDonald

Alternate: #1 Pat Adams

VOTE ON THE MOTION

AYES: Roberts, Chapman, Sams, and Crandall

NAYS: None VOTE: 4-0

Motion made by Council Member Chapman, seconded by Council Member Sams to appoint the following individuals to the Community Development Corporation for a two-year term, expiring September 30, 2026:

Regular Members:

- 1. Lacy Burrhus
- 2. Scott Daum
- 3. Brenda Latham
- Tyler Ochoa

VOTE ON THE MOTION

AYES: Roberts, Chapman, Sams, and Crandall

NAYS: None VOTE: 4-0

Motion made by Council Member Chapman, seconded by Council Member Roberts, to appoint the following individuals to the Crime Control and Prevention District for a two-year term, expiring September 30, 2026:

Regular Members:

- 1. Johnny Jones
- 2. Jim Murphy
- 3. Lori Van Alstine
- 4. Steven Weiss

VOTE ON THE MOTION

AYES: Roberts, Chapman, Sams, and Crandall

NAYS: None VOTE: 4-0 Motion made by Council Member Chapman, seconded by Council Member Crandall, to appoint the following individuals to the Special Events Committee for a two-year term, expiring September 30, 2026:

Regular	Members:	Two-Year	Term
---------	----------	----------	------

- 1. Donna Baumgarner
- 2. Kathy Daum
- 3. Lori Van Alstine
- 4. Randy Van Alstine

and appoint the following individuals for a one-year term, expiring September 30, 2025:

Regular Members: One-Year Term:

- 1. Council Member Margie Arens
- 2. Council Member Keith Crandall
- 3. Sean Stenovitch

VOTE ON THE MOTION

AYES: Roberts, Chapman, Sams, and Crandall

NAYS: None VOTE: 4-0

F. FUTURE ITEMS

Discussion only, no action taken.

G. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Carrington declared the meeting adjourned at 6:51 pm.

APPROVED this the 17th day of September 2024.

	APPROVED:
ATTEST:	Jaclyn Carrington, Mayor
Shannon Montgomery, TRMC, Town Secretary	