

## **BRISBANE CITY COUNCIL**

### **ACTION MINUTES**

### **BRISBANE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING**

# THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 2021

**VIRTUAL MEETING** 

### 5:00 P.M. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Mackin called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m.

City Council Member Lentz has a conflict that he has not been able to resolve this evening. However, he intends to join us later this evening. He also passed on some input for Council deliberations if he is unable to join.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

No member of the public wished to speak.

# **COMMISSION/COMMITTEE INTERVIEWS AND POSSIBLE APPOINTMENTS**

A. Interview applicants for 5 Open Space and Ecology Committee Terms through January 2026

Erin Becker 5:05 pm

Shanna Calmes 5:15pm

Ross Dykes 5:25pm

Glenn Fieldman 5:35pm

Lindsay Elle Miller 5:45pm

Rebecca Mitchell 5:55pm

Mary Rogers 6:05pm

Michele Salmon 6:15pm

Julyana Acevedo 6:25

Councilmembers interviewed applicants Erin Becker, Shanna Calmes, Glenn Fieldman, Lindsay Elle Miller, Rebecca Mitchell, Mary Rogers, Michele Salmon and Julyana Acevedo.

B. Interview applicants for 3 Parks & Recreation Commission Terms through January 2026 and 1 term through January 2025

City Council Minutes February 10, 2022 Page 2

Julyana Acevedo: 6:35pm

Tony Byun: 6: 45pm

Renee Commerford: 6:55pm

We will now take a 30 minute break---

Trudi Davis, 7:35pm

Sarah Duffy, 7:45pm

Natalie Ocampo, 7:55pm

Tom Seawell 8:05pm

William Lok 8:15pm

Councilmembers interviewed Julyana Acevedo, Tony Byun, Renne Commerford, Trudi Davis, Sarah Duffy, Natalie Ocampo, Tom Seawell and William Lok.

# C. Interview applicants for 5-7 Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accountability Committee Initial Terms through 2023 or 2024

William Lok 8:25 pm

Sheila Rae Bradley 8:35pm

Kiki Leon 8:45 pm

Alexandra Horton 8:55 pm

Mangesh Kohlatkar 9:05 pm

Dianne Oseto 9:15 pm

Christopher Wirowek 9:25 pm

Councilmembers interviewed applicants William Lok, Alexandra Horton, Mangesh Kohlatkar, and Dianne Oseto.

Applicants Kiki Leon, Sheila Rae Bradley and Christopher Wirowek withdrew their application and were not interviewed.

# E. Discussion and Consider making Appointments for 5 Open Space and Ecology Committee Terms through January 2026

After conducting a straw poll, Councilmember O'Connell made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Lentz to appoint Erin Becker, Shanna Calmes, Glenn Fieldman, Mary Rogers, and Michele Salmon to the Open Space and Ecology Committee each for a term through January 2026. Motion passes unanimously by all present.

Ayes: Councilmembers Cunningham, Davis, Lentz, O'Connell and Mayor Mackin

Noes: None Absent: None Abstain: None City Council Minutes February 10, 2022 Page 3

# D. Discussion and Consider making an Appointment for 3 Parks & Recreation Commission Terms through January 2026 and 1 term through January 2025

After conducting a straw poll, Councilmember O'Connell made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Cunningham to appoint Renee Commerford, Trudi Davis, and Natalie Ocampo to the Parks and Recreation Commission each for a term through January 2026 and Tom Seawell for a term through January 2025. Motion passes unanimously by all present.

Ayes: Councilmembers Cunningham, Davis, Lentz, O'Connell and Mayor Mackin

Noes: None Absent: None Abstain: None

# F. Discussion and Consider making Appointments for 5-7 Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accountability Committee Initial Terms through 2023 or 2024

Councilmember Lentz made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Cunningham to appoint William Lok, Dianne Seto, Alexandra Horton and Mangesh Kolhatkar to the Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Accountability Committee each for an initial term through January 2024 with an option to request to renew for an additional 2 year term. Motion passes unanimously by all present.

Ayes: Councilmembers Cunningham, Davis, Lentz, O'Connell and Mayor Mackin

Noes: None Absent: None Abstain: None

Council directed staff to open up recruitment in the future for up to 3 IDEA Committee terms through 2023.

#### 4. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Mackin adjourned the meeting at 10:04 p.m.

Ingrid Padilla, City Clerk