Planning Commission

Theodore D. Washington Municipal Building, 20 Bridge Street, Henry "Emmett" McCracken Jr. Council Chambers

July 26, 2023

I. CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chairman Wetmore called the meeting to order at 6pm.

II. ROLL CALL

PRESENT

Vice Chairman Charlie Wetmore Commissioner Rich Delcore Commissioner Jason Stewart Commissioner Jim Flynn Commissioner Lydia DePauw Commissioner Michael Brock

ABSENT

Chairwoman Amanda Jackson Denmark

III. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Commissioner Stewart made a motion to adopt the agenda as written.

Seconded by Commissioner Delcore.

Voting Yea: Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner Stewart, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the motion passed.

IV. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

1. June 28, 2023 Minutes

Commissioner Flynn made a motion to adopt the minutes as written.

Seconded by Commissioner Delcore.

Voting Yea: Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner Stewart, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the motion passed.

V. PUBLIC COMMENTS FOR ITEMS NOT ON THE AGENDA*

VI. OLD BUSINESS

VII. NEW BUSINESS

1. Parcel B-1 (Initial Master Plan): A request by Brian Witmer of Witmer Jones Keefer, Ltd, on behalf of Millstone Ventures, LLC, and with the approval of the property owner, Parcel 8A, LLC, for approval of an initial master plan application. The project proposes 16.02 acres of residential development and 5.9 acres of commercial development. The property is zoned Buckwalter PUD and consists of 21.92 acres identified by tax map number R610 028 000 0921

0000 and located at the northeast corner of the intersection of SC Highway 170 and Gibbet Road. (MP-06-23-018137) (Staff – Dan Frazier)

Staff presented. The applicant was in attendance. There was discussion about the two traffic lanes, the parking spaces for residents and the conversion for residential dwelling units.

Mr. Walter Nester, attorney for the applicant, stated that there are no remaining commercial to residential dwelling unit conversions allowed in the Buckwalter PUD.

Commissioner Flynn made a motion to recommend conditional approval to Town Council for the Parcel B-1 Master Plan with the following conditions:

- 1. A statement shall be placed on the initial master plan declaring that all development within the master plan shall conform to the requirements and recommendations of the Beaufort County CONNECTS 2021 Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan.
- 2. Whether located on- or off-site, it shall be the responsibility of developers to install a 10-foot-wide bicycle and pedestrian path along SC Highway 170 frontage consistent with the requirements and recommendations of the Beaufort County CONNECTS 2021 Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan in conjunction with individual site development within the Parcel B-1 Initial Master plan.
- 3. Site layouts for all parcels are subject to full Town review and approval at time of development plan submittal.

Seconded by Commissioner Stewart.

Voting Yea: Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner Stewart, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the motion passed.

2. CarVillage Bluffton (Development Plan Application): A request by Dan Keefer of Witmer Jones Keefer, Ltd, on behalf of the property owner, Charlie and Brown, LLC for approval of a preliminary development plan. The project consists of the construction of a +/-20,000 sq. ft. two-story Clubhouse and 5 buildings divided into +/- 31 high-end garage condominium units. The property is zoned Village at Verdier PUD and consists of approximately 5.00 acres, identified by tax map number R610-021-000-0808-0000 and located on Highway 170 approximately 1,200 feet south of Seagrass Station Road. (DP-08-22-017076) (Staff – Dan Frazier)

Staff presented. There was discussion about the neighboring development. Dan Keefer reviewed the meeting the applicant had with the Seagrass Station Single Family Homeowners Association.

Commissioner Delcore made a motion to approve the application as submitted.

Seconded by Commissioner Stewart.

Voting Yea: Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner Stewart, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the motion passed.

VIII. DISCUSSION

Vice Chairman Wetmore welcomed Commissioner Brock to the Planning Commission.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Brock made a motion to adjourn.

Seconded by Commissioner Delcore.

Voting Yea: Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner Stewart, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Brock

All were in favor and the motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 6:25pm.

