# **Planning Commission Meeting**

Theodore D. Washington Municipal Building, Henry "Emmett" McCracken Jr. Council Chambers, 20
Bridge Street, Bluffton, SC

April 23, 2025

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Charlie Wetmore called the meeting to order at 6pm.

#### II. ROLL CALL

**PRESENT** 

Chairman Charlie Wetmore

Vice Chairman Jim Flynn

Commissioner Michael Brock

Commissioner Lydia DePauw

**Commissioner Daniel Grove** 

Commissioner Will Howard

**ABSENT** 

Commissioner Rich Delcore

#### III. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

1. March 26, 2025 Minutes

Commissioner Brock made a motion to adopt the minutes as written.

Seconded by Commissioner DePauw.

Voting Yea: Chairman Wetmore, Vice Chairman Flynn, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Grove, Commissioner Howard

All were in favor and the motion passed.

## IV. PUBLIC COMMENT

### V. OLD BUSINESS

#### VI. NEW BUSINESS

1. Cornerstone Church - New Riverside Campus (Development Plan): A request by Sturre Engineering on behalf of Cornerstone Church for approval of a Preliminary Development Plan application. The project consists of site improvements to accommodate a new assembly hall and offices for church operations including stormwater, parking and associated infrastructure. The property is zoned Agricultural (AG) and Rural Mixed Use (RMU) and consists of approximately 41.3 acres identified by tax map number R610 036 000 0014 0000 and located south of May River Road approximately 600 feet east of Stardust Lane. (DP-02-25-019597) (Staff - Dan Frazier)

Staff presented. The applicant was present. The Commission asked for verification that adjacent properties were notified of the project. There was discussion regarding the inability to tie into public sewer and water at this time.

Commissioner Brock made the motion to approve the application as submitted.

Seconded by Commissioner Grove.

Voting Yea: Chairman Wetmore, Vice Chairman Flynn, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Grove, Commissioner Howard

All were in favor and the motion passed.

2. UDO Amendment: A request by the Unified Development Ordinance Administrator for recommendation of Approval of an Amendment to the Town of Bluffton's Municipal Code of Ordinances, Chapter 23, Unified Development Ordinance (UDO), Article 4 – Zoning Districts, Table 4.3, Uses by District, to Allow Schools as a Permitted ("P") Use in the Preserve (PR) Zoning District. (Staff - Charlotte Moore)

Staff presented. The commission had no questions.

Commissioner Grove made the motion to recommend approval of an amendment to the Town of Bluffton Code of Ordinances Chapter 23 – Unified Development Ordinance, Article 4, Zoning Districts, Table 4.3 (Uses by District) to add schools as a permitted use in the Preserve (PR) Zoning District.

Seconded by Vice Chairman Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairman Wetmore, Vice Chairman Flynn, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Grove, Commissioner Howard

All were in favor and the motion passed.

3. Public Hearing and Recommendation to Town Council for that Certain Properties Owned by Beaufort County School District Consisting of a Total of 24.12 Acres, More or Less, Located at 1105 Bluffton Parkway and Identified by Beaufort County Tax Map Nos. R600 029 000 011A 0000, R600 029 000 1736 0000 and R600 029 000 0034 0000 for Annexation into the Town of Bluffton. (ANNX-02-25-019605) (Staff - Dan Frazier)

Chairman Wetmore opened the public hearing. He asked for the first call for public comment. He asked for the second and third call for public comment. There were no public comments. The public hearing was closed.

Staff presented. The applicant was present. The Commission had no questions.

Commissioner Grove made the motion to forward Town Council a Recommendation of approval of the proposed Annexation of the Beaufort County School District Properties Consisting of 24.12 Acres, More or Less, located at 1105 Bluffton Parkway and identified by Beaufort County Tax Map Nos. R600 029 000 011A 0000, R600 029 000 1736 0000 and R600 029 000 0034 000, into the Town of Bluffton Corporate Limits.

Seconded by Commissioner Brock.

Voting Yea: Chairman Wetmore, Vice Chairman Flynn, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Grove, Commissioner Howard

All were in favor and the motion passed.

4. Public Hearing and Recommendation to Town Council for that Certain Properties Owned by Beaufort County School District Consisting of for approximately 77.93 Acres, More or Less, consisting of the 24.12 Acres, More or Less, Located at 1105 Bluffton Parkway and Bearing

Beaufort County Tax Map Nos. R600 029 000 011A 0000, R600 029 000 1736 0000 and R600 029 000 0034 0000 which are Under Consideration for Annexation and currently zoned as T2-Rural (T2R) as well as those Adjacent Properties Consisting of the 53.731 Acres, More or Less, Located at 3050 River Ridge Drive and Bearing Beaufort County Tax Map Nos. R610 029 000 0012 0000, R610 029 000 0084 0000, R610 029 000 1780 0000, and R610 029 000 0612 0000 which are Within the Town's Corporate Boundary and Currently Zoned as Residential General (RG), to Rezone Said Parcels to the Preserve (PR) District Pursuant to the Unified Development Ordinance (ZONE-02-25-019606) (Staff - Dan Frazier)

Chairman Wetmore opened the public hearing. He asked for the first call for public comment. He asked for the second and third call for public comment. There were no public comments. The public hearing was closed.

Staff presented. The applicant was present. The Commission had no questions.

Commissioner Howard made the motion to forward Town Council a Recommendation of approval of the proposed Zoning Map Amendment of the Beaufort County School District Properties Consisting of 77.93 Acres, More or Less, Located at 1105 Bluffton Parkway and identified by Beaufort County Tax Map Nos. R600 029 000 011A 0000, R600 029 000 1736 0000, R600 029 000 0034 0000, R610 029 000 0012 0000, R610 029 000 0084 0000, R610 029 000 1780 0000, and R610 029 000 0612 0000, to Rezone Said Property to the Preservation (PR) District Pursuant to the Unified Development Ordinance.

Seconded by Vice Chairman Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairman Wetmore, Vice Chairman Flynn, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Grove, Commissioner Howard

All were in favor and the motion passed.

## VII. DISCUSSION

## VIII. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Howard made the motion to adjourn.

Seconded by Vice Chairman Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairman Wetmore, Vice Chairman Flynn, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Grove, Commissioner Howard

All were in favor and the motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 6:23pm.