Historic Preservation Commission Meeting

Theodore D. Washington Municipal Building, Henry "Emmett" McCracken Jr. Council Chambers, 20
Bridge Street, Bluffton, SC

April 03, 2024

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Goodwin called the meeting to order at 6pm.

II. ROLL CALL

PRESENT

Chairman Evan Goodwin Vice Chairman Joe DePauw Commissioner Carletha Frazier Commissioner Jim Hess Commissioner Kerri Schmelter Commissioner Debbie Wunder

III. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Commissioner Schmelter made a motion to adopt the agenda.

Seconded by Commissioner Frazier.

Voting Yea: Chairman Goodwin, Vice Chairman DePauw, Commissioner Frazier, Commissioner Hess, Commissioner Schmelter, Commissioner Wunder

IV. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

1. February 7, 2024 Minutes

Commissioner Frazier made a motion to approve the minutes as written.

Seconded by Commissioner Schmelter.

Voting Yea: Chairman Goodwin, Vice Chairman DePauw, Commissioner Frazier, Commissioner Hess, Commissioner Schmelter, Commissioner Wunder

V. PUBLIC COMMENT

VI. OLD BUSINESS

VII. NEW BUSINESS

1. Public Project: A Public Project to include improvements to the drainage and streetscape along Pritchard Street between Bruin Road and Bridge Street, to include Stormwater Best Management Practices (BMPs), sidewalk installation, streetlight installation, and parking lot improvements to the existing parking lot adjacent to the Beaufort County Public Pool building. (DP-03-22-019022)(Staff - Katie Peterson)

Staff presented the improvements proposed for the Pritchard Street Streetscape project. Commissioners discussed the warmth of the streetlights, location of streetlights, drainage concerns and environmental impacts of drainage.

They had no comments for the UDO Administrator.

There was no action to be taken.

VIII. DISCUSSION

Historic District Monthly Update. (Staff)
 Staff reviewed the monthly report. The Commissioners had no questions.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Hess made the motion to adjourn.

Seconded by Commissioner Schmelter.

Voting Yea: Chairman Goodwin, Vice Chairman DePauw, Commissioner Frazier, Commissioner Hess, Commissioner Schmelter, Commissioner Wunder

All were in favor and the motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 6:11pm.