Planning Commission Meeting

Theodore D. Washington Municipal Building, Henry "Emmett" McCracken Jr. Council Chambers, 20 Bridge Street, Bluffton, SC

April 24, 2024

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Denmark called the meeting to order at 6pm.

II. ROLL CALL

PRESENT

Chairwoman Amanda Jackson Denmark Vice Chairman Charlie Wetmore Commissioner Rich Delcore Commissioner Lydia DePauw Commissioner Jim Flynn

ABSENT

Commissioner Michael Brock Commissioner Jason Stewart

III. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Commissioner Delcore made a motion to adopt the agenda.

Seconded by Commissioner Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn

All were in favor and the motion passed.

IV. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

1. March 27, 2024 Minutes

Vice Chairman Wetmore made a motion to adopt the minutes as written.

Seconded by Commissioner Flynn. Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn

All were in favor and the motion passed.

V. PUBLIC COMMENT

VI. OLD BUSINESS

VII. NEW BUSINESS

1. Consideration of an Updated Buck Island-Simmonsville Neighborhood Plan (Staff - Charlotte Moore)

Staff presented. There was discussion regarding the timeline for the bus shelters in the area and the need to include school buses as well.

Commissioner Flynn made the motion to recommend approval of the Buck Island -Simmonsville Neighborhood Plan Update to Town Council.

Seconded by Commissioner Delcore.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn

All were in favor and the motion passed.

VIII. DISCUSSION

1. Workshop Regarding Housing Analysis Required to Obtain Accommodations Tax (ATAX) Funds to Develop Workforce Housing (Staff - Charlotte Moore)

Staff discussed the process of applying to use the ATAX funds for Workforce Housing. Staff will present a Housing Analysis next month.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

Vice Chairman Wetmore made the motion to adjourn.

Seconded by Commissioner Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Delcore, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn

All were in favor and the motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 6:25 pm.