Planning Commission Meeting

Theodore D. Washington Municipal Building, Henry "Emmett" McCracken Jr. Council Chambers, 20
Bridge Street, Bluffton, SC

December 18, 2024

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Denmark called the meeting to order at 6pm.

II. ROLL CALL

PRESENT

Chairwoman Amanda Jackson Denmark Vice Chairman Charlie Wetmore Commissioner Michael Brock Commissioner Lydia DePauw Commissioner Jim Flynn Commissioner Daniel Grove

ABSENT

Commissioner Rich Delcore

III. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

1. November 20, 2024 Minutes

Commissioner Brock made the motion to adopt the minutes as written.

Seconded by Commissioner Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner Grove

All were in favor and the motion passed.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENT

V. OLD BUSINESS

VI. NEW BUSINESS

Edwards Inc., on behalf of Eric Zwilsky of 1 Corinthians, LLC, for approval of a Preliminary Development Plan. The project consists of a 15,400 SF basketball-focused fitness facility with associated access, parking, utilities and stormwater infrastructure. The property is zoned General Mixed Use (GMU) and consists of approximately 6.0 acres identified by tax map numbers R610 031 000 0212 0000 and R610 031 000 0173 0000. (DP-10-24-019391) (Staff - Dan Frazier)

Staff presented. The applicant was present. The commissioners had questions regarding the process for recombining the two lots shown on the site plan. There was discussion regarding access to the building via sidewalk from the overflow parking and if more ADA parking spots would be required if an expansion to the building is proposed in the future.

Commissioner Flynn made the motion to approve the PickUp USA Fitness Club Preliminary Development Plan application as submitted.

Seconded by Commissioner Brock.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner Grove

All were in favor and the motion passed.

VII. DISCUSSION

VIII. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Brock made the motion to adjourn.

Seconded by Commissioner Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Vice Chairman Wetmore, Commissioner Brock, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner Grove

All were in favor and the motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 6:09 pm