Planning Commission Meeting

Theodore D. Washington Municipal Building, Henry "Emmett" McCracken Jr. Council Chambers, 20
Bridge Street, Bluffton, SC

September 25, 2024

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Denmark called the meeting to order at 6 pm.

II. ROLL CALL

PRESENT

Chairwoman Amanda Jackson Denmark Commissioner Lydia DePauw Commissioner Jim Flynn Commissioner Daniel Grove

ABSENT

Vice Chairman Charlie Wetmore Commissioner Michael Brock Commissioner Rich Delcore

III. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

1. August 28, 2024 Minutes

Commissioner Flynn made the motion to adopt the minutes as written.

Seconded by Commissioner Grove.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner Grove

All were in favor and the motion passed.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENT

V. OLD BUSINESS

VI. NEW BUSINESS

1. Venture at Okatie Bluffs (Street Naming): A request by Willy Powell of Ward Edwards, Inc., on behalf of Adrien Dannemiller of Okatie Bluffs Owner LLC for approval of a Street Naming Application. The Applicant is proposing three street names that will provide access to the site from both Gibbet Rd and HWY 170, which will include interconnections to future developments. The project proposes six multifamily buildings, four garage buildings, a clubhouse, and associated amenities and infrastructure. The property is zoned Buckwalter Planned Unit Development and consists of approximately 22.0 acres identified by tax map number R610 028 000 0921 0000 located within the Parcel B-1 Master Plan. (STR-08-24-019274) (Staff - Angie Castrillon)

Staff presented. The applicant was present. The commission discussed the pronunciation of one of the street names.

Commissioner Flynn made the motion to approve the following street names for the Venture at Okatie Bluffs development:

- 1. Cormorant Way
- 2. Kite Drive
- 3. Grebe Street
- 4. Razorbill Drive
- 5. Tufted Duck Drive
- 6. Chimney Swift Lane
- 7. Trumpeter Swan Lane
- 8. Cinnamon Teal Road
- 9. Kittiwake Lane
- 10. Scarlet Ibis Way

Seconded by Commissioner Grove.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner Grove

All were in favor and the motion passed.

- Public Hearing and Recommendation to Town Council for that Certain Properties Owned by Rose Kitty and Ferrellgas Inc., Consisting of a Total of 1.38 Acres, More of Less, Located at 328, 330 and 332 Buck Island Road and identified by Beaufort County Tax Map Numbers R610 03 000 0016 0000 (328 and 330 Buck Island Road) and R610 039 000 018C 0000 (332 Buck Island Road). (Staff-Dan Frazier)
 - A. Consideration of an Amendment to the Town of Bluffton Comprehensive Plan "Blueprint Bluffton" to Amend the Said Properties from the Future Land Use Designation of Suburban Living to Neighborhood Center;
 - B. Consideration of a Zoning Map Amendment to Rezone the Subject Properties from the Residential General (RG) Zone District to the Light Industrial (LI) Zone District.

Chairwoman Denmark opened the public hearing. She asked for the first, second and third call for public comment. There were no public comments. The public hearing was closed.

Staff presented. The commissioners had no comments.

A. Commissioner DePauw made the motion to forward Town Council a recommendation of approval of an amendment to the Town of Bluffton Comprehensive Plan.

Seconded by Commissioner Flynn.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner Grove

All were in favor and the motion passed.

B. Commissioner DePauw made the motion to forward Town Council a recommendation of approval of the Zoning Map Amendment application.

Seconded by Commissioner Grove.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner Grove

All were in favor and the motion passed.

VII. DISCUSSION

VIII. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Grove made the motion to adjourn.

Seconded by Commissioner DePauw.

Voting Yea: Chairwoman Jackson Denmark, Commissioner DePauw, Commissioner Flynn, Commissioner Grove

All were in favor and the motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 6:11 pm