

STAFF REPORT

MEETING DATE: November 18, 2024

TITLE:

Consideration, discussion and possible action on election of FY 2024/2025 BEDC Officers: Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary/Treasurer.

AGENDA ITEM SUBMITTED BY:

Angela Ryan, BEDC Operations Manager

BACKGROUND/HISTORY:

The annual election of board officers needs to be held for the upcoming year.

According to the current BEDC's Bylaws, neither the office of Chair or Vice Chair may be held by a member of the City Council. All Board members are eligible to serve as Secretary or Treasurer. The offices of Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer may be combined. (Typically, the Bastrop EDC officers have consisted of a Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary/Treasurer.) It is not defined within the Bylaws how to conduct Officer Elections, so it is at the Board's discretion to decide among its members the format of the annual Officer Elections.

Last year's officers were Ron Spencer, Chair; Connie Schroeder, Vice Chair; and Frank Urbanek, Secretary/Treasurer. A list of current board members is included below.

FISCAL IMPACT:

N/A

RECOMMENDATION:

A board member can make a nomination for the current officers to continue to serve for the upcoming year. However, the position of Vice Chair is currently vacant and needs to be filled.

ATTACHMENT:

None

FY 2025 BEDC Board Members

Seat #	Board Member	Term Expiration
Seat 1	Frank Urbanek	September 2025
Seat 2	Gary Blake	September 2026
Seat 3	John Kirkland	September 2025
Seat 4	Cheryl Lee	September 2026
Seat 5	Ron Spencer	September 2025
Seat 6	T.J. Finn	September 2026
Seat 7	Chris McCool	September 2025