

STAFF REPORT

MEETING DATE: October 17, 2024

TITLE:

Consider and act on Resolution No. R2025-136; A Resolution Receiving Nominations from Bastrop Mayor for Appointment to the Planning & Zoning Commission for Places, 1, 3, 5, 7 and 10; Receiving Confirmation by the City Council of Appointees for a Three-Year Term Beginning in October 2024 and Ending in September 2027; and Providing for an Effective Date.

AGENDA ITEM SUBMITTED BY:

Submitted by: James E Cowey, Development Director/Building Official

BACKGROUND/HISTORY:

Pursuant to Sec. 1.04.001 – Appointments on the Code of Ordinances, In June of each year, the City Secretary will post notices of any advisory body position with terms expiring at the end of the current fiscal year or are currently vacant in established places or new places becoming available for appointment to city advisory bodies at City Hall and any other media sources selected. By the end of August each year, the Mayor will review the applications to serve on the city's advisory bodies received by the City Secretary. The Mayor, upon a finding of good cause, has the authority to waive this one-year waiting period. The Mayor and City Council conducted interviews with the Applicants on Tuesday, October 15, 2024 at Bastrop City Hall.

Under Section 1.04.002(1) "Membership, terms" any individual that has previously served two (2) consecutive terms on a particular advisory body, must wait one full year before being reappointed to the same advisory body. Place 1 will be appointed for 1 year to fill unexpired term. Mayor Nelson appoints David Cruz. Place 3 and Place 7 are currently held by Keith Ahlborn and Joshua Bingaman respectively. They have both requested reappointment and Mayor Nelson has so agreed.

Mayor Nelson proposes to appoint Scott Robichaud to Place 5 and Nancy Rabensburg to Place 10. Place 10 is considered to be the Impact Fee Member that must reside in the extraterritorial jurisdiction per Section 13.12.004 of the Code of Ordinances.

Place	Mayor Appointment	Council Concurrence
1	David Cruz	
3	Keith Ahlborn	
5	Craig Scot Robichaud	
7	Joshua Bingaman	
10	Nancy Rabensburg	

The Impact Fee Advisory Committee function and authority are included for the City Council review and information. If needed or directed by the City Council, Staff will update.

Staff is verifying the number of years served by the members of this Committee and will report the number of terms each has served to comply with the Code of Ordinances.

Currently in the Code of Ordinances Zoning Board of Adjustment commissioners may serve as alternates when needed on the Planning and Zoning Commission. Staff is in the process of modifying the codes to remove this in an attempt to minimize possible conflicts of interest. Currently, two members sit on both boards, they have both chosen to resign from the Zoning Board of Adjustments. The Planning and Zoning Commission will now no longer have alternates, and the code does allow for alternates to be appointed.

Upon confirmation the Planning & Zoning Commission shall be composed of the following:

Place	First Name	Last Name	Appt Date	Term	Expiration Date
1	David	Cruz	2024		2025
2	Ishmael	Harris	2022		2025
3	Keith	Ahlborn	2024		2027
4	Gary	Moss			2025
5	Craig.Scot	Robichaud	2024		2027
6	Patrice	Parson	2023		2026
7	Joshua	Binghaman	2024		2027
8	Jordon	Scott	2023		2026
9	David	Barrow	2023		2026
10	Nancy	Rabensburg	2024		2027

FISCAL IMPACT:

N/A

RECOMMENDATION:

Mayor will appoint and City Council confirm the members to the Planning & Zoning Commission.

ATTACHMENTS:

- 1. Resolution
- 2. Impact Fee Information