RESOLUTION NO. R-2024-149

RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF BASTROP, TEXAS, RECEIVING NOMINATIONS FROM THE BASTROP HOUSING AUTHORITY BOARD FOR PLACES 2, 4, AND 5 FOR FULL 3-YEAR TERMS OF OFFICE BEGINNING IN OCTOBER 2024 AND ENDING SEPTEMBER 2027; APPOINTING CITY MANAGER SYLVIA CARRILLO-TREVINO AS COUNCIL LIAISON TO SAID BOARD; RECEIVING CONFIRMATION BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF APPOINTEES ON SAID COMMISSION; AND PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

- WHEREAS, pursuant to Chapter 1 "General Provisions", Article I.04 "Boards and Commissions" board members shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the Council; and
- WHEREAS, the Housing Authority is governed by Chapter 1 "General Provisions", Article 1.05 "Housing Authority". The Housing Authority has the power to transact business and exercise powers conferred by the provisions of the Housing Authorities Act, Chapter 462, Acts of the 45th Legislature, Regular Session, 1937, codified as article 1269k, Vernon's Annotated Texas Civil Statute; and
- WHEREAS, the city's housing authority will be governed by five (5) commissioners who serve two-year terms. One of the commissioners of the city's housing authority shall be a resident ("resident member") of a public housing project over which the city's housing authority has jurisdiction, in compliance with the V.T.C.A., Local Government Code, § 392.0331. Including the one resident of the public housing project over which the city's housing authority has jurisdiction, four (4) of the commissioners shall be residents of the city and one of the commissioners may reside within the city's extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ) (so that the total number of commissioners is five (5)), so long as the extraterritorial jurisdiction residence is also located within five (5) miles of the city's corporate limits.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BASTROP CITY COUNCIL:

- Place 2 –
- Place 4-
- Place 5 -

SECTION 3. Mayor Nelson has accepted these nominations and the City Council has confirmed.

SECTION 4. This Resolution shall take effect immediately upon its passage and it is so resolved that the Bastrop Housing Authority Board shall be composed of the following:

						Expiration
Place		First Name	Last Name	Appt Date	Term	Date
1	Housing Resident	Eva	Ballard	2023		2025
2		Christina	Campbell	2024		2026
3		Mary	Butler	2023		2025
4		Amy	Turner	2024		2026
5	ETJ Resident	Chase	Anderson	2024		2026

DULY RESOLVED AND ADOPTED by the City Council of the City of Bastrop this ____ day of *OCTOBER* 2024.

	CITY OF BASTROP, TEXAS	
	Lyle Nelson, Mayor	
ATTEST:	APPROVED AS TO FORM:	
Irma G. Parker, City Secretary	Alan Bojorquez, City Attorney	