MAY 16, 2023

The Bastrop City Council met in a special meeting on Tuesday, May 16, 2023, at 4:30 p.m. at the Bastrop City Hall Council Chambers, located at 1311 Chestnut Street, Bastrop, Texas. Members present were: Mayor Schroeder and Council Members Lee, Plunkett, Crouch, and Kirkland. Officers present were City Manager, Sylvia Carrillo; City Secretary, Ann Franklin; and Assistant City Attorney, Rezzin Pullum.

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Schroeder called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. with a quorum present. Mayor Pro Tem Rogers was absent.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Clayton Cannon, led the pledges.

INVOCATION

Bob Long, Bastrop Police Chaplain, gave the invocation.

CITIZEN COMMENTS – NONE

INDIVIDUAL CONSIDERATION I

4A. Consider action to approve Resolution No. R-2023-77of the City Council of the City of Bastrop, Texas to canvass the May 6, 2023, Election for Mayor, Place 2, and Place 3 of the Bastrop City Council; and establishing an effective date. Submitted by: Ann Franklin, City Secretary

A motion was made by Council Member Kirkland to approve Resolution No. R-2023-77, seconded by Council Member Crouch, motion was approved on a 4-0 vote. Mayor Pro Tem Rogers was absent.

4B. Consider action to approve Resolution No. R-2023-76 of the City Council of the City of Bastrop, Texas, calling for a runoff Election for Mayor of the Bastrop City Council for a term of three years, designating the date of said Election; designating polling places; designating early voting hours and places; directing posting and publication of notice for said election; and providing an effective date.

Submitted by: Ann Franklin, City Secretary

A motion was made by Council Member Plunkett to approve Resolution No. R-2023-76, seconded by Council Member Lee, motion was approved on a 4-0 vote. Mayor Pro Tem Rogers was absent.

OATH OF OFFICE

- 5A. Incumbent Council Member Kevin Plunkett Place 3
 - Swearing Oath of Office, The Honorable Chris Duggan, State District Judge, District 423
 - Signature of official documents, Ann Franklin, City Secretary
 - Welcome by Council
 - Comments by Council Member Plunkett

- 5B. Incoming Council Member Cynthia Sanders Meyer Place 2
 - Swearing Oath of Office, The Honorable Chris Duggan, State District Judge, District 423
 - Signature of official documents, Ann Franklin, City Secretary
 - Welcome by Council
 - Comments by Council Member Meyer

INDIVIDUAL CONSIDERATION II

6A. Consider Action to Elect Mayor Pro Tem.
Submitted by: Ann Franklin, City Secretary
Council Member Lee nominated Council Member Plunkett for Mayor Pro Tem.

Council Member Crouch and Council Member Plunkett nominated Council Member Kirkland for Mayor Pro Tem.

A vote was taken on the dais to elect the new Mayor Pro Tem with the following results:

Council Member Plunkett – 1 vote, Council Member Lee voted for Council Member Plunkett

Council Member Kirkland – 4 votes, Council Members Plunkett, Meyer, Crouch, and Kirkland voted for Council Member Kirkland

Council Member Kirkland was elected as the new Mayor Pro Tem.

Adjourned at 5:00 p.m. without objection.

RECEPTION IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED MEETING.

APPROVED:

ATTEST:

Mayor Connie B. Schroeder

City Secretary Ann Franklin

The Minutes were approved on May 23, 2023, by Council Member motion, Council Member second. The motion was approved on a vote.