

STAFF REPORT

MEETING DATE: September 10, 2024

TITLE:

Consider and act on Resolution No. R-2024-123, Casting an Official Ballot to Elect and Region 10 Representative to serve on the Texas Municipal League (TML) Board of Directors for a 2-year term ending 2026.

AGENDA ITEM SUBMITTED BY:

Submitted by: Irma G. Parker, City Secretary, TRMC, CMC

BACKGROUND/HISTORY:

Today, 1,175 Texas cities are members of the Texas Municipal League. The League is governed by a Board of Directors made up of:

- President and president-elect
- Regional directors, one from each of the League's 15 sub-state regions
- Affiliate directors, one from each of the League's 21 affiliates
- Eight at-large directors, one from each of the state's eight largest cities
- All past presidents still in municipal office
- One ex officio representative from the TML Intergovernmental Risk Pool

The City of Bastrop is in Sub-State Region 10 which is comprised of San Saba, Lampasas, Mason, Llano, Burnet, Williamson, Travis, Hays, Milam, Caldwell Bastrop, Lee, Burleson, Brazos, Fayette, and Washington Counties. Our 2024-2026 Officers are:

President – LaVonia Horne, Council Member – Buda Vice President - Emily Hill, Mayor Pro Tem – Manor Secretary – Alicia Ramirez, City Clerk – Buda

Region 10 Board Representative was previously held by Leander Mayor Christine DeLisle whose term expires in 2025. Mayor DeLisle has indicated she is not seeking re-appointment. Each TML membership city must vote for the Region Director position. Those individuals vying for this position and their biographies are attached for your information.

FISCAL IMPACT:

None

RECOMMENDATION:

The City Council nominate taff an individual to represent TML Region 10 Board for a 2-year term.

ATTACHMENTS:

1. Resolution R-2024-123

- Official Ballot
 Region 10 Director Candidate Biographies