# BALDWIN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS CALLED MEETING

August 22, 2023 1601 N Columbia St, Suite 220 4:00 P.M.

#### **MINUTES**

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT**

Emily Davis
John Westmoreland
Kendrick Butts (Virtual)
Sammy Hall
Henry Craig

#### **OTHERS PRESENT**

Brandon Palmer Carlos Tobar Dawn Hudson

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Emily Davis called the Meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. She stated the purpose of the called meeting is to set the 2023 millage rate.

#### **INVOCATION**

County Manager Carlos Tobar delivered the Invocation

# **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

Vice Chairman John Westmoreland led the Pledge.

### **ADMINISTRATIVE / FISCAL MATTERS**

Resolution to Adopt the 2023 Millage Rate and Accept the Board of Education Resolution

Assistant County Manager Dawn Hudson presented a Resolution for the Board's consideration establishing the County Millage Rates for Tax Year 2023. She reported all legal requirements have been met for advertising the five (5) year tax digest and levy history; notice has been given that the County tax levy would be presented for adoption at this called meeting. Ms. Hudson stated the County's tax levy for 2023 is 10.02 mills and sets the rate for the Hospital Indigent Care Tax District at \$25.

She confirmed the Board of Education met earlier and adopted the BOE millage rate of 14.58 mills which is also included in this Resolution for adoption.

Assistant County Manager Hudson requested a vote to accept the Resolution as presented to set the 2023 millage rate at the rollback rate of 10,02 and to authorize the Chairman to execute the Resolution.

Commissioner Sammy Hall made a motion to adopt the Resolution as presented. Commissioner Henry Craig seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

A copy of the Resolution is herewith	h attached and made a	an official part of the	minutes at pages
and			

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Commissioner Henry Craig made a motion to adjourn the Called Meeting at 4:15 p.m. Vice Chair John Westmoreland seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Emily C. Davis Chair

Carlos Tobar County Manager