BALDWIN COUNTY REGULAR MEETING



November 2, 2021 1601 N Columbia St, Suite 220 6:00 PM

MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT

Henry Craig
John Westmoreland
Kendrick Butts
Emily Davis
Sammy Hall

OTHERS PRESENT

Carlos Tobar David McRee Dawn Hudson

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Henry Craig called the November 16, 2021 Regular Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Vice Chairman John Westmoreland made a motion to approve the minutes of the November 2, 2021 Work Session, the November 2, 2021 Public Hearing and Regular Meeting and the November 2, 2021 Executive Session. Commissioner Emily Davis seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

PRESENTATIONS

Communities in Schools

Communities in Schools Executive Director Janet Cavin expressed her appreciation to the Board for their support of Communities in Schools (CIS) programs. She discussed how funding is used including its use as leverage for other funding sources. Ms. Cavin reported on other grants that have been received that help in education efforts in the school system. On behalf of the students and parents of Baldwin County Schools, she again thanked Commissioners for their support and for the opportunity to make a presentation before them.

ADMINISTRATIVE / FISCAL MATTERS

Appointment to Development Authority of Milledgeville / Baldwin County Board of Directors

A letter of recommendation was presented for the re-appointment of Greg Tyson to the Board of Directors of the Development Authority.

Commissioner Emily Davis made a motion to reappoint Mr. Greg Tyson to serve on the Board of the Development Authority of Milledgeville / Baldwin County. Commissioner Sammy Hall seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Appointment to Region 5 EMS Advisory Council

Fire Chief Victor Young presented a recommendation for Mr. David Carver to serve as the Region 5 EMS Advisory Council Member for the term 2021-2024.

Commissioner Sammy Hall made a motion to appoint Mr. David Carver to serve on the Region 5 EMS Advisory Council. Commissioner Emily Davis seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Title VI Assurance / Nondiscrimination Agreement

County Manager Carlos Tobar presented the title VI Non-Discrimination Agreement between the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) and Baldwin County. He reported this is a requirement by GDOT in order for the County to receive federal funding.

Vice Chairman John Westmoreland made a motion to approve the Title VI Assurance / Nondiscrimination Agreement as presented. Commissioner Sammy Hall seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Georgia Department of Transportation Policy for Procurement, Management and Administration of Engineering and Design Related Consultant Services

County Manager Tobar stated this is another requirement of the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) in order for the County to receive state and federally funded transportation funds. The policy states that the County will abide by the requirements outlined in the procurement policy in matters of procurement, management and administration of engineering and design related consultant services. The policy states that all personnel involved in the procurement, management and administration of engineering and design related consultant services attend the GDOT training and pass the test. Mr. Tobar reported he and Engineer Brian Wood have completed the training and passed the test.

Commissioner Sammy Hall made a motion to adopt the GDOT Policy for Procurement, Management and Administration of Engineering and Designed Related Consultant Services as presented. Commissioner Kendrick Butts seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) contract with DBT Transportation Services for AWOS System

County Manager Carlos Tobar discussed a GDOT Contract with DBT Transportation Services for the installation of a new AWOS System at the Airport. He requested authorization for the Chairman to sign the Agreement and to provide twenty-five percent (25%) matching funds as long as the match does not exceed \$50,000.

Vice Chairman John Westmoreland made a motion to authorize the Chairman to sign the GDOT contract and to authorize a match not to exceed \$50,000 for the installation of the new AWOS system. Commissioner Sammy Hall seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business to come before the Board.

NEW BUSINESS

There was no new business to come before the Board.

COUNTY MANAGER'S REPORT

County Manager Tobar presented an update on the following: County has sent all information to new county water customers, effective January 1, 2021; city has installed the meter; replaced all 6,600 feet of defective water pipe in Erin Shores; testing of the lines has been done; shoulders and right-of-way grassing continues; driveway entrance at Government Building should be completed soon; striping of newly paved roads has started; roundabout start dated has been moved to December 13 to allow for additional public notice.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD FOR NON-AGENDA ITEMS

Ms. Susie Marshall addressed the Board regarding lighting on the Southside of the County and the gang shootings. She also reported on the Community Thanksgiving Dinner and stated if anyone would like to donate items to please call Tracy Harper.

Ms. Sharon Lord addressed the Board regarding lighting in Hardwick.

Ms. Edwina Hubbard addressed the Board regarding lighting and cameras in Oconee Heights.

Ms. Jessica McQuain addressed the Board regarding the mental health crisis in the County.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Commissioner Sammy Hall made a motion to go into Executive Session at 6:45 to discuss personnel. Vice Chairman John Westmoreland seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

REOPEN REGULAR MEETING

Commissioner Emily Davis made a motion to reopen the Regular Meeting at 7:20 p.m. Commissioner Kendrick Butts seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Emily Davis made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:20 p.m. Commissioner Sammy Hall seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted

Henry R. Craig Chairman

Cynthia K. Cunningham County Clerk